Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Box of Golf: A Classic Golf Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fairway Shot Rule rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Volkhard Humburg
Germany
flag msg tools
I have a small question on the rule above:

The Basic Rules of the Basic game allows that players may roll all five dice, but may only keep the best four, if shooting from the fairway (Best four out of five).

What does it mean ?

Does it mean, the player can only move four spaces on the course from the fairway, even if he rolls five matching dice (5 blue dice for example) on one turn ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Terhune
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
This is a blatant example of frivolous geek gold spending.
badge
I spent 100 geek gold and all I got was this lousy overtext.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the tee box or fairway, you always move as far as you rolled.

When shooting out of the rough, however, you move one fewer space than you rolled. So if you roll all five dice and get 5 blues, you'll only move four spaces.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volkhard Humburg
Germany
flag msg tools
Thanks for your answer.

You didn't answer the first part of my question. What does the following rule mean ?:

Players may roll all five dice for a shot from the fairway, but may only keep the best four (Best four out of five).

This rule is listed under "Symbols" on the original box of golf basic rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Fitchett
United States
Garnet Valley
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have two versions of the game. Both say Fairway: Good lie. Black dice can not be re-rolled or counted unless hitting from a star. Maybe something in the german rules are different in the translation but NOTHING in the rules say anything about 4 out of 5. Rough mentions a loss of one thus a 4 becomes a 3.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Welborn
United States
Anderson
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Clemson Tigers #1
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
surfitch wrote:
I have two versions of the game. Both say Fairway: Good lie. Black dice can not be re-rolled or counted unless hitting from a star. Maybe something in the german rules are different in the translation but NOTHING in the rules say anything about 4 out of 5. Rough mentions a loss of one thus a 4 becomes a 3.


I agree. At least in the English rules there is nothing about best 4 of 5.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.