Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Cosmic Encounter: Cosmic Incursion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question Time!!! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Withem

Texas
msg tools
mbmbmb
here we go. answer as its ruled, or how you play it!

1) What cards do Fido work on? any card discarded that encounter? or only one of the two "attack' cards revealed? (attack is used roughly and presumed to also include negotiates and morphs)

2) Who wins the "win condition priority?" Tick-tock or 5-point victory?

3) Chronos - what exactly does he undo? encounter cards are obvious, as ar reinforcement and certain alien powers (kamikazee, loser, etc etc) what about flares? vacumm flare and chosen flare come readily to mind. Can those flares be played a second time? It also begs to question if choronos plays his super, can he then play another wild on the "2nd" reveal?

4) Does drawing a new hand trump philanthropist super flare? (mainly regarding Deuce) I understand this is a misleading question since the initial "hand-drawing" was changed by FFG - was merely wondering how it is supposed to happen now.

5) Can Amoeba and Amoeba wild flare allow the use to "freely" establish ships on the colony being attacked if it has 0 ships on it? (obviously only works in "empty" home system of course)

6) When can we expect the next FAQ? =(
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Toomai Glittershine
Canada
flag msg tools
NoobSauce wrote:
1) What cards do Fido work on? any card discarded that encounter? or only one of the two "attack' cards revealed? (attack is used roughly and presumed to also include negotiates and morphs)
I believe Fido is ruled to only work on the encounter cards that were revealed. So not Fodder's extra cards or anything, and certainly encounter cards only.
NoobSauce wrote:
2) Who wins the "win condition priority?" Tick-tock or 5-point victory?
The only way Tick-Tock could win at the same time as a regular win is if a deal is made that causes a win. In this case, it's been ruled in the FAQ that Tick-Tock shares the win with the other players.
NoobSauce wrote:
3) Chronos - what exactly does he undo? encounter cards are obvious, as ar reinforcement and certain alien powers (kamikazee, loser, etc etc) what about flares? vacumm flare and chosen flare come readily to mind. Can those flares be played a second time? It also begs to question if choronos plays his super, can he then play another wild on the "2nd" reveal?
This one hasn't been answered yet. Presumably, players that used a flare in Planning would be able to use it again (since Planning gets undone). But the collecting of cards and the movement of ships are not undone by Chronos, so they'd have their effects stacked.
NoobSauce wrote:
4) Does drawing a new hand trump philanthropist super flare? (mainly regarding Deuce) I understand this is a misleading question since the initial "hand-drawing" was changed by FFG - was merely wondering how it is supposed to happen now.
If you have to draw a new hand as Deuce, the encounter card Philanthropist gave you is no longer accessible. So you can't play it, and the flare does mention "if possible", so in this case you'd be saved. Of course, this only applies to Deuce, since it's difficult for anyone else to draw a new hand as the defense in Planning when they have one encounter card already.
NoobSauce wrote:
5) Can Amoeba and Amoeba wild flare allow the use to "freely" establish ships on the colony being attacked if it has 0 ships on it? (obviously only works in "empty" home system of course)
What's the question exactly? If you're attacking an empty home planet (with no ships at all on it), you just load in your ships and the encounter ends in Launch.
NoobSauce wrote:
6) When can we expect the next FAQ? =(
Whenever FFG gets off their butts and tosses something resembling a FAQ together.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Withem

Texas
msg tools
mbmbmb
clarifying 5)...

Attacker attacks an empty planet in Amoeba's home system. When Amoeba uses his power to ooze, do the ships automatically go on the planet re-establishing ships on his "empty" home colony? Or do they go "next" to the planet the same way defending allies would? Conversely, does it work the same way for other aliens holding the Amoeba Wild? - basically, When you "ooze" ships in to an encounter in which you already have 0 ships, where do the ships go?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Just a Bill
United States
Norfolk
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
No, I said "oh, brother," not "go hover."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
NoobSauce wrote:
clarifying 5)...

Attacker attacks an empty planet in Amoeba's home system. When Amoeba uses his power to ooze, do the ships automatically go on the planet re-establishing ships on his "empty" home colony?

Yes.

May I recommend you read the FAQ? Granted it's got a crapload of errors, but it does address some of your questions. That's always a good place to look first, and then, if you're still confused, by all means ask here. But getting other people to read the FAQ for you and tell you what it says is not a real good way to endear yourself to the player community. ;-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Toomai Glittershine
Canada
flag msg tools
NoobSauce wrote:
clarifying 5)...

Attacker attacks an empty planet in Amoeba's home system. When Amoeba uses his power to ooze, do the ships automatically go on the planet re-establishing ships on his "empty" home colony? Or do they go "next" to the planet the same way defending allies would? Conversely, does it work the same way for other aliens holding the Amoeba Wild? - basically, When you "ooze" ships in to an encounter in which you already have 0 ships, where do the ships go?
Amoeba wrote:
You have the power to ooze. As a main player, after encounter cards are selected, but before they are revealed, if you have at least one ship in the encounter, you may use this power to increase or decrease the number of ships you have in the encounter. You may remove some or all of your ships to your colonies, or you may add as many ships as you want (even exceeding the normal maximum of four) from any of your colonies. If you win the encounter but have no ships left in it, you cannot receive a colony.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Withem

Texas
msg tools
mbmbmb
Toomai Glittershine wrote:
NoobSauce wrote:
clarifying 5)...

Attacker attacks an empty planet in Amoeba's home system. When Amoeba uses his power to ooze, do the ships automatically go on the planet re-establishing ships on his "empty" home colony? Or do they go "next" to the planet the same way defending allies would? Conversely, does it work the same way for other aliens holding the Amoeba Wild? - basically, When you "ooze" ships in to an encounter in which you already have 0 ships, where do the ships go?
Amoeba wrote:
You have the power to ooze. As a main player, after encounter cards are selected, but before they are revealed, if you have at least one ship in the encounter, you may use this power to increase or decrease the number of ships you have in the encounter. You may remove some or all of your ships to your colonies, or you may add as many ships as you want (even exceeding the normal maximum of four) from any of your colonies. If you win the encounter but have no ships left in it, you cannot receive a colony.


does the Amoeba Wild work with teh same restraint?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Toomai Glittershine
Canada
flag msg tools
NoobSauce wrote:
does the Amoeba Wild work with teh same restraint?
Frustratingly, no. Wild Amoeba users can re-establish a home colony with ease if the offense picks a planet devoid of one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Just a Bill
United States
Norfolk
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
No, I said "oh, brother," not "go hover."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Amoeba wrote:
You have the power to ooze. As a main player, after encounter cards are selected, but before they are revealed, if you have at least one ship in the encounter, you may use this power to increase or decrease the number of ships you have in the encounter. You may remove some or all of your ships to your colonies, or you may add as many ships as you want (even exceeding the normal maximum of four) from any of your colonies. If you win the encounter but have no ships left in it, you cannot receive a colony.

Whoops. Shame on me for going by the FAQ answer on the flare and not checking the power. Must be my comeuppance for being a bit snippy ... sorry about that.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.