Chris Rowe
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Not a broad, what game should I get thread but instead I've already got the list down to a select few games. American Revolution is favorite time period for certain but I need to find a game that is solitaire or can be played solitaire (chess versus yourself type game) fairly easily or are specifically designed for solitiare. In addition, I'd like a game that I can replay quite a bit and not be done with after playing a couple of times. Finally, I'm a relative newbie so I'd be afraid a game with a lot of complexity...not that I can't if need be...just a little timid.

Washington's War -- not sure how well this one can be played solo

Hold the Line -- looks pretty simply but also seems playable solo even though it's not designed that way.

D-Day Omaha Beach -- seems to have great reviews and is solo designed. I'm a bit worried about the difficulty level.

Field Commander Rommel -- seems to be solid but I'm not sure it looks as appealing as it might actually be.

World at War: Eisenbach Point or Blood and Bridges -- not at all sure abou this one but it seems to get good chatter. Not sure how solo friendly it would be.

I'd listen to other suggestions but I feel like one of these should be my choice.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan "Spartan Spawn, Sworn, Raised for Warring!"
United States
Sellersburg
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
badge
"By the power of truth, I, while living, have conquered the universe."
mbmbmbmbmb
The only one Ive played is Field Commander Rommel so it gets my recommendation, I feel you cant go wrong with it. Its fun easily accessible rules wise yet is difficult to beat without feeling like its bad.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kent Reuber
United States
San Mateo
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't usually recommend a card-driven game like Washington's War for solo play. Knowing what cards both sides have to me spoils the solo play.