Aleksander R. Nordgarden Rødner
Norway
Oslo
Oslo
flag msg tools
designer
Proud father of Sarah Arwen and Ruth Rose
badge
Would really like to study U.S. History at some point, just to be able to say that I'm a Coolidge student...
mbmbmbmbmb
At this year's Atlanticon, I was introduced to Inn-Fighting, and I took to it like a brawler to a barroom. The mechanics are simple enough to explain in a minute or so, and the game can be played over and over.

Simply put, you play an adventurer (or, more usually, several advanturers) in a barroom brawl. You get action cards that are divided into bystanders and other effect cards. On your turn, you roll the dice, and use whatever action is available.

Speaking of the dice; they are custom six-sided dice, showing icons for ale (a foaming tankard), luck (dice), punch attack (a fist), chair attack (a stool) and power attack (a lightning bolt). One die is red, the defense die.

If you get three or more ale or luck icons showing, you get to take ale or luck actions, but only one or the other, and only one of them per turn. An ale action means taking victory points from the leading player (aka power goal) and healing one of your characters (adventurer or bystander), spilling the rest of the ale on the floor. A luck action means getting another action card.

Attacks go to the left (punch), right (chair) or towards the player with the most VP (power). Attacks that yield 3+ damage, or knock out a character allows the defender to roll the defense die; if you roll successfully; follow the instructions on the cards.

The game offers a nice little meta-gaming effect when played in an Inn, and is a fun way to pass a few (or even a lot of) hours with gamer friends. Inn-fighting relies heavily on the luck of the dice, meaning that you might have the victory at hand, only to lose it because you don't get the amount of dice you need to attack an adventurer.