Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Per Sylvan
Sweden
STOCKHOLM
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mb
A quick disclaimer: Though I am by no means an expert player, still I have played HRVC since its publishing. I have always found the relative lack of strat articles a bit strange. I’d just like to drop a few thoughts here, which could be the basis for further debate & analysis by the true experts.
The REAL challenge, however, is to write a Roman strat article, imho…I’ll see if I can muster some extra endurance and have a shot at it, otherwise, I’d love to read someone else’s article on that matter!

I consider Carthage to have 5 main strats in HRVC.
However, the beauty of this game, is that you are seldom committed to one of these strats for all the game. You can start out with Cisalpine Fortress, then switch to Island Hopping once Hannibal is ousted, etc. Anyhow, even though you might switch between the strats several time during a game, it is stil valuable to be aware of your options, and the strengths and drawbacks of them all.
Therefore, here goes, the strats in order of my own preference:

1) Cisalpine Fortress (Italian strat)
2) Capture Italy (Italian strat, northern or southern variation)
3) Island Hopping (non-Italian strat)
4) Sitzkrieg (non-Italian strat)
5) Assault Rome (Italian strat)

Carthaginian Strategies

Cisalpine Fortress (Italian strat)

Description:
The general idea is to get Hannibal into Gallia Cisalpine on Turn 1, take the province and keep a 9-9 province count throughout the game. If you have the extra manpower, and the right cards, you might want to try to hassle the Roman with incursion to Sicily or Corsica as to put extra pressure on them.

The moves:
Enter G Cisalpine on Turn 1 with Hannibal.
Camp in Gallia Cisalpina for the remainder of the game. Use your ‘3’ cards to reinforce Hannibal at all times.