Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Empire of the Sun» Forums » Rules

Subject: Escorting Distant Carriers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This phrase creates some questions for me. The place it is mentioned is in rule 8.3.

"Only non-CV naval units in the battle hex are considered for this calculation (for example, a BB naval unit in the battle hex counts, but a BB naval unit that is escorting the distant carriers which also participated in the battle does not, since it did not contribute its attack values for the battle)."

The wording is confusing on this but I get the gist of it. Basically you can have a non-CV naval unit (e.g. battleship) escorting the carriers that are sitting outside the battle hex shooting in.

Questions:

#1 Are the distant non-CV naval units participating in the battle?

#2 Can distant non-CV naval units be selected to receive hits?

#3 Can the reaction player send non-CV naval units to escort distant carriers though they won't directly participate in battle?

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce X
United States
Unspecified
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
drmark64 wrote:
This phrase creates some questions for me. The place it is mentioned is in rule 8.3.

"Only non-CV naval units in the battle hex are considered for this calculation (for example, a BB naval unit in the battle hex counts, but a BB naval unit that is escorting the distant carriers which also participated in the battle does not, since it did not contribute its attack values for the battle)."

The wording is confusing on this but I get the gist of it. Basically you can have a non-CV naval unit (e.g. battleship) escorting the carriers that are sitting outside the battle hex shooting in.

Questions:

#1 Are the distant non-CV naval units participating in the battle?

Yes

Quote:
#2 Can distant non-CV naval units be selected to receive hits?

Yes.

Quote:
#3 Can the reaction player send non-CV naval units to escort distant carriers though they won't directly participate in battle?


Not sure on this one, but suspect yes. I've never seen it done though since reaction player is limited in number of units that can be sent to the battle and usually tries to maximize the amount of firepower that is actually counted in the battle to do maximum damage to the attacker.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ermd wrote:
drmark64 wrote:
This phrase creates some questions for me. The place it is mentioned is in rule 8.3.

"Only non-CV naval units in the battle hex are considered for this calculation (for example, a BB naval unit in the battle hex counts, but a BB naval unit that is escorting the distant carriers which also participated in the battle does not, since it did not contribute its attack values for the battle)."

The wording is confusing on this but I get the gist of it. Basically you can have a non-CV naval unit (e.g. battleship) escorting the carriers that are sitting outside the battle hex shooting in.

Questions:

#1 Are the distant non-CV naval units participating in the battle?

Yes

Quote:
#2 Can distant non-CV naval units be selected to receive hits?

Yes.

Quote:
#3 Can the reaction player send non-CV naval units to escort distant carriers though they won't directly participate in battle?


Not sure on this one, but suspect yes. I've never seen it done though since reaction player is limited in number of units that can be sent to the battle and usually tries to maximize the amount of firepower that is actually counted in the battle to do maximum damage to the attacker.


Yes to all three... thanks Bruce
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This brings another question forward. I am looking at Section 8.2, subsection F number 4. The rules for selection of units to take hits says this: "Non-air capable naval units can always be the target of hits generated during an air naval battle and are unaffected by the restrictions in this case."

Would that statement hold true even when those non-air capable naval units are escorting distant carriers?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
drmark64 wrote:
This brings another question forward. I am looking at Section 8.2, subsection F number 4. The rules for selection of units to take hits says this: "Non-air capable naval units can always be the target of hits generated during an air naval battle and are unaffected by the restrictions in this case."

Would that statement hold true even when those non-air capable naval units are escorting distant carriers?


Yes
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.