Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Summoner Wars: Guild Dwarves vs Cave Goblins» Forums » Rules

Subject: Gror's Ability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
T France
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Played last night and we couldn't figure out how the "all cards within 2 spaces" worked. We played that it was anywhere you could move with legal movement; so a 3x3 square centered on Gror and the four squares which were each 2 spaces away from him in a straight line. Is this correct, or do you count diagolnally as well (making it a 4x4 square centered on Gror?)...
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Schenck
United States
Dayton
Ohio
flag msg tools
GO BUCKS!
badge
Stop touching me!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Your first interpretation is correct: Distance is counted the same as movement, which means diagonals are a no-no.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael D. Kelley
United States
Silver Spring
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Your first guess (3x3 with 4 exra squares) is correct.
Although it's worth noting that this is not equivalent to movement, as his attack can travel through units and walls.
Also (and this is something I had missed), Gror needs to be making a melee attack FIRST before he activates his ability. You can't attack a unit with Gror from two spaces away, unless there's something adjacent that he can actually swing at.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Cookingham
United States
Poughkeepsie
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, it is a bit confusing. It could have used an example in the instructions. Maybe for the faq?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
T France
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GameMasterX0 wrote:
Your first guess (3x3 with 4 exra squares) is correct.
Although it's worth noting that this is not equivalent to movement, as his attack can travel through units and walls.
Also (and this is something I had missed), Gror needs to be making a melee attack FIRST before he activates his ability. You can't attack a unit with Gror from two spaces away, unless there's something adjacent that he can actually swing at.


Yeah, we got that. he attacked a wall to set it off. It also damages his own units and walls, correct?...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Sitz
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Titeman wrote:
It also damages his own units and walls, correct?...

Correct.

Another thing to note: Baldar's Shield Block only works against opponent's attacks.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bartłomiej Mikołajczyk
Poland
flag msg tools
http://www.plaidhatgames.com/Summoner_Wars_FAQ_1.1.pdf (last from general)
Q: When using a Special Ability that affects cards “within X spaces” can I count diagonally to
determine which cards are affected?
A: No, in the Terminology Clarifications section of the rulebook it explains that when counting
spaces for these types of powers you don't count diagonally, you count the spaces like you
would count out movement, so area of effect powers have a sort of jagged diamond shaped
area of effect.

So: A-Affected G-Gror T-Target
--A--
-AAA-
AAGTA
-AAA-
--A--
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.