Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

The Pillars of the Earth: Builders Duel» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do you have to use cards you've claimed? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Danjell Elgebrandt
Sweden
Enskede
Stockholm
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
An interesting situation arose in my last game. I had claimed a 4 gold card. I would have been left with 5 gold had I not picked this card. However, my opponent had the card that equalizes gold and she had 5 gold too and needed 6 in order to place two goods in the building, thus ending the game.

My question is simply if you have to activate all cards you've placed seals on or if it is optional. The rules seem to indicate that you have to activate them and that's how we played. However, with all the translation problems and the weird thematic effect (Not a bag of gold, I beg thee, have mercy!) I figured I should at least ask
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
BibKamp318
Belgium
Beerse [near Turnhout]
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There's nothing in the rules that state that you MUST execute the cards.
In the case you describe, it's indeed better NOT to use the card.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.