Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark» Forums » Rules

Subject: A couple of questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aaron Sibley
United Kingdom
Ramsgate
Kent
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Some questions that arose in last nights game
Rapid Fire
A hero with the Rapid Fire Skill is marked with the Guard order. When that hero conducts his interupt attack can he then use 2 fatigue to gain another attack?

Trap Master
Overlord has played Trap Master and the traps do 2 extra damage. Would the monsters also suffer these extra damage too?

Game Ending
If the heros kill the main villain does the quest end at that point, so if there are chests which are unopened are they allowed to go around openning them to gain the conquest points?

Guard Order
It says in the rules that the Guard order allows the hero to interupt the OL at any time. If the OL player draws his cards, takes his threat and then declares that his turn is over, can the hero still use the guard order to attack a monster?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Rapid Fire
After making a Ranged attack, you may immediately spend 2 fatigue to make 1 additional attack with the same weapon this turn. You may use this ability multiple times, paying its cost each time.


Quote:
Guard Order
At any point during the overlord player’s turn (not during
a hero’s turn), a hero may use his guard order to
immediately "interrupt" the overlord player’s turn and
make one attack (following all the normal rules for line
of sight and attacking).


(emphasis mine) As long as the guard order's attack is a Ranged attack, yes you may use Rapid Fire.

IIRC, traps don't affect monsters, so no.

Each Quest has its own end-game requirements. Once those are satisfied, games over. Besides, why would you want to open chests after you've ended the game?

And lastly, Guard Order can be use at *any time* during the OL's turn. Before he draws cards, before he earns threat, and yes, at the very end of his turn (i.e. he's "declaring" his turn is over, but the hero player interrupts that to use his Guard order).

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rapid Fire: Yes, Rapid Fire can be used after any Ranged attack. That includes a Ranged attack made with a Guard order. It also includes a Ranged attack made with the Rapid Fire skill--you can continue chaining attacks until you run out of fatigue, if you like.

Trap Master: Yes, trap cards would do 2 extra damage to monsters as well, but it's very unusual for a monster to be hurt by a trap card; most of them explicitly only affect heroes.

Game Ending: When the heroes fulfill their victory conditions, they win, and there's no particular reason they would care about gaining more conquest. If you're using some house rule that would make the heroes care, then you'll have to decide whether you want to house rule the end condition as well.

Guard Order: Per the most recent FAQ, the overlord must activate every monster on the board during his turn (he doesn't need to move or attack with them, but he has to declare their activation and resolve any lingering effect tokens on them), so this shouldn't come up. Also note that a hero can use a Guard order to interrupt the overlord at any time during his turn--even before he draws cards or collects threat, if you want.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Bradley
United States
Belleville
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
shnar wrote:
And lastly, Guard Order can be use at *any time* during the OL's turn. Before he draws cards, before he earns threat, and yes, at the very end of his turn (i.e. he's "declaring" his turn is over, but the hero player interrupts that to use his Guard order).

-shnar


And, in fact, each monster *has* to activate. The OL can decide not to move or attack but the activation is required so effects like bleed and burn occur.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Sibley
United Kingdom
Ramsgate
Kent
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you all for your answers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.