Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Hammer of the Scots» Forums » Rules

Subject: Scottish archers? Movement of 3 or 2? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonny Lawless
United States
Bountiful
Utah
flag msg tools
Love my girls!
badge
My name is Glenn! Long have I carried Cyrus's hopes and dreams, and now I bear the Masamune as well! Henceforth, I claim them as my own! I shall slay the Fiendlord Magus and restore our honor!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I just got this game with the new 3.0 rules. The revised rules state that the Scottish archers have a movement of 2, while the block states 3.

Normally I'd just go with what the block says, but since it seems that the rules have been revised more recently than the stickers, I wasn't sure.

Is there some sort of official ruling on this?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko Ruf
Germany
Schönaich
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The move value of 3 is correct.

Here is a confirmation by the designer on the Columbia Games forums:

http://www.blockgames.us/viewtopic.php?t=1096&postdays=0&pos...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chakroun Karim
France
Besancon
Franche-Comté
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mb
Niko Ruf wrote:
The move value of 3 is correct.

Here is a confirmation by the designer on the Columbia Games forums:

http://www.blockgames.us/viewtopic.php?t=1096&postdays=0&pos...


Not to say you're wrong, but this thread is from 2005, 3.0 rules are from 2009. And you're right, the stickers are older than both the map and the rulebook.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko Ruf
Germany
Schönaich
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
True, the discussion is about 2.0 rules, but AFAIK the list of units in the sidebar that gives a move of 2 for the archers did not change between versions. So I believe that the fact that the move rating was raised to 3 at some point just hasn't made it into the rules yet.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Whitney
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When there's a discrepancy, as a general rule I'd go by the block. Otherwise what are you going to do, create and print your own replacement label? I guess some would have the skill to do that, but the amount of time and effort alone would rule it out for me. Good to know that in this case the label has been confirmed to be correct.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonny Lawless
United States
Bountiful
Utah
flag msg tools
Love my girls!
badge
My name is Glenn! Long have I carried Cyrus's hopes and dreams, and now I bear the Masamune as well! Henceforth, I claim them as my own! I shall slay the Fiendlord Magus and restore our honor!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In case anyone still wonders about this, Columbia's website has a PDF of the rules which now shows 3 for the movement, just like the block.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Forest Green Hobbit
United States
Montpelier
Vermont
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here is a link to the above mentioned rules with 3 move for the Scots archers on page 2:
http://www.columbiagames.com/resources/3161/hammerrules.pdf

and here is a link to the block stickers:
http://www.columbiagames.com/pix/3161-hammer-labels.gif
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.