War of the Ring Collector's Edition» Forums » General

Subject: In appreciation of the painting rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Poulter
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When I got my collector's edition I was very pleased with the painting. As I haven't tried any painting for some time I thought why not paint all the extras required for the expansion games and then use the CE ones with the bare minimum required. This looks like about 40 miniatures to do, which seems achievable.

So I have started and tried to match the same models where required (more rohan riders etc) with the CE version. Wow, is it tough! I have so much more respect for the quality of the painting. For me to get close (and probably still be worse) to their standard I will be spending at least an hour per model. Admittedly I am no expert, but the standard is very high considering how many were needed.

As a side note can anyone recommend something to hold and protect them when finished?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bartow Riggs
United States
Antelope
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I've always been of the camp that even some paint is better than no paint since the plain blobs of plastic look so hideous.

Doing as good a job as you can will be rewarding of course - and it only has to be done once - but even if you can take the time to do a just a fair to good job it will look sooooo _much_ better.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Case
England
Epsom
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
https://www.facebook.com/amuse.ment.92
badge
mbmbmbmbmb