Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Welch
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Levée en Masse I've been an AP History teacher for almost 25 years and was always looking for a game that could be used with students at all learning levels but would prompt the development of authentic critical thinking by my students.

More recently, I was fortunate enough to have a game on the French Revolution published by Victory Point Games called Levee en Masse. It was designed as a solitaire game that would be fun and challenging - right for replayability. However, the teacher in me was compelled to put together a set of five lesson plans that work through Bloom's so that by lesson five, students are critically applying their knowledge by creating Event Cards for the game. My plan going forward is to produce a teacher version of the game that would contain all the components to be able to have students play in the classroom.

Until then, the set of lesson plans is now available as a free download from the Victory Point Games website.

For those that have been waiting or for those that know teachers that might be interested, the lesson plans for Levee en Masse are now up on the VPG website. Follow the link and click on 'Levee en Masse' and then click the 'Lesson Plans' listing to get a zip file that contains all 5 of them.

Here's the link: http://victorypointgames.com/articleDetail.php?GameAids

I hope they work for you and please let me know how things went with your students.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Nicholson
Canada
Brantford
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm just putting together a research grant proposal to study how game design compares to other forms of class activities for the learning and retaining of course concepts. I think there's something significant here about how making games really helps you understand something.