Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
UA Darth
United States
Boca Raton
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm a newbie... only played my first game the other day. None of the other gems seem to be able to compare to rubies... is it possible to win without going rubies?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zé Mário
Portugal
Porto
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, there's at least one other strategy: having more diamonds than a rapper.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Faulkner
United Kingdom
Banstead
Surrey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rubies are not essential to winning this game.
They are just one approach that sometimes pays off, but can be a little slow to get going. Typically, the Ruby will come with a charge late in the game, but often does not quite get to the front by game end.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
UA Darth
United States
Boca Raton
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If I remember correctly, there is a sentinel that gives 2 VP per ruby, plus rubies give 3 vp each, plus they have 60 magic per 4... diamonds give less vp, less vp for the sentinel(1 per if I remember correctly), and less magic(20 per 4)... plus, you have to wait for the auction to come up in order to be able to start it...

What am I missing?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Menlo Park
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Are you following the rule limiting a player to owning 5 rubies?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
UA Darth
United States
Boca Raton
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dkeisen wrote:
Are you following the rule limiting a player to owning 5 rubies?

Yes, but having 4 rubies and the rest something else still gives you 60 a round.. after 4, it just starts repeating the cycle.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls

Lacombe
Louisiana
msg tools
badge