Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Nuns on the Run» Forums » Rules

Subject: Are "noise" modifiers independent of one-another? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Wade Ashton
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to clarify, the rules continually reference noise "modifiers" - one as the last action of the novice turn (for making noise) and the other as the last action of the gaurd turn (for hearing noise).

Question: Are these rolls are completely independent of one-anothor?

Example: at the end of a given turn, a gaurd rolled a 3, constituting the gaurd's "listening modifier." If a novice is within 3 spaces, then the gaurd heard a noise and is free to divert from it's path. Then, as the last action of the novice turn, they roll for "making noise." The novice rolls a 6 (but is sneaking, which grants a -2 modifier), so the resulting roll is 4.

Back to the question - is the novice "noise making" roll of 4 heard if the gaurd's previous "listening" roll is only 3? OR is it simply that the rolls are independent of one another? (ie. the gaurd rolled a 4,check for distance. Then on the novice's turn, they rolled a 3, check for distance).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bradley Hays
United States
Raymore
Missouri
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
HighVolumeLP wrote:
Just to clarify, the rules continually reference noise "modifiers" - one as the last action of the novice turn (for making noise) and the other as the last action of the gaurd turn (for hearing noise).

Question: Are these rolls are completely independent of one-anothor?

Example: at the end of a given turn, a gaurd rolled a 3, constituting the gaurd's "listening modifier." If a novice is within 3 spaces, then the gaurd heard a noise and is free to divert from it's path. Then, as the last action of the novice turn, they roll for "making noise." The novice rolls a 6 (but is sneaking, which grants a -2 modifier), so the resulting roll is 4.

Back to the question - is the novice "noise making" roll of 4 heard if the gaurd's previous "listening" roll is only 3? OR is it simply that the rolls are independent of one another? (ie. the gaurd rolled a 4,check for distance. Then on the novice's turn, they rolled a 3, check for distance).


To answer the question, yes, the two rolls are independent of each other, but the modifier, which is on whatever movement card was played on the novice's last turn will be the same. So if Theresa walked this turn (her modifier is -1), she will roll the die and subtract 1 from that roll to see how far her noise travels toward either guard (but only toward guards that walked last turn). On the following guards' turn, each walking guard rolls the die. Theresa must subtract 1 (again from her card which she played last turn). So if both guards walked, and the abbess rolls a 6, and the prioress a 3, then Theresa must count 5 spaces toward the abbess (6-1=5), and 2 spaces toward the prioress (3-1=2).
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wade Ashton
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for being so articulate with your response. We were apparently missing that important detail where the novice modifier (based on the movement card played), is subtracted from the subsequent gaurd(s) "check for noise" roll(s).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.