D L
Malaysia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Suppose US plays the CMC card, and in a later Action Round within the same turn, US plays a card that triggers a USSR event that allows USSR to perform a coup, and USSR performs the coup, who wins the game?
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Re: Question about Cuban Missile Crisis
Whoever the active player is at the time. it is possible for the USSR to make a move on the US players turn and force the US player to lose the game (and vice versa). SO the US player should avoide playing the event that would cause this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Schwarz
United States
Tucker
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Question about Cuban Missile Crisis
ColtsFan76 wrote:
Whoever the active player is at the time. it is possible for the USSR to make a move on the US players turn and force the US player to lose the game (and vice versa). SO the US player should avoide playing the event that would cause this.


Brian, if the US plays CMC as an event, then later in that turn plays olympics as an event while defcon is 2, what happens when the USSR decides to do a coup of a battleground? Normally, USSR wins, because US was phasing player, but doesn't CMC change the result while it is active?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D L
Malaysia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Question about Cuban Missile Crisis
Talltim wrote:
ColtsFan76 wrote:
Whoever the active player is at the time. it is possible for the USSR to make a move on the US players turn and force the US player to lose the game (and vice versa). SO the US player should avoide playing the event that would cause this.


Brian, if the US plays CMC as an event, then later in that turn plays olympics as an event while defcon is 2, what happens when the USSR decides to do a coup of a battleground? Normally, USSR wins, because US was phasing player, but doesn't CMC change the result while it is active?


Uh... I think in this case, USSR wins because he degraded DEFCON by 1, not via a coup.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Schwarz
United States
Tucker
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Question about Cuban Missile Crisis
Dodya wrote:
Talltim wrote:
ColtsFan76 wrote:
Whoever the active player is at the time. it is possible for the USSR to make a move on the US players turn and force the US player to lose the game (and vice versa). SO the US player should avoide playing the event that would cause this.


Brian, if the US plays CMC as an event, then later in that turn plays olympics as an event while defcon is 2, what happens when the USSR decides to do a coup of a battleground? Normally, USSR wins, because US was phasing player, but doesn't CMC change the result while it is active?


Uh... I think in this case, USSR wins because he degraded DEFCON by 1, not via a coup.


CMC says the player affected loses if they coup at all, regardless of defcon. The act of the coup occurs before the defcon degrades.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Robinson
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Question about Cuban Missile Crisis
But boycotting the Olympics degrades defcon by 1 (and then, following that, the other player gets the 4 Ops). Cuban Missile Crisis only stops the other player from couping, but events (not involving coups) which lower defcon still cannot be played safely. Playing Olympics as an event with defcon at 2 will lose you the game. Similarly, Nuclear Subs Cuban Missile Crisis does not stop events like We Will Bury You from degrading defcon. [Nuclear Subs won't stop it either, but that's not what the question was about.]

Edited once twice for content
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D L
Malaysia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Question about Cuban Missile Crisis
What about Lone Gunman? Does CMC prevent USSR from performing a coup if the phasing player for Lone Gunman is US?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Brown
United States
Macon
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Question about Cuban Missile Crisis
If the US plays Cuban Missile Crisis as an event, The USSR loses as soon as they declare a coup in that turn (unless they first remove influence from Cuba). It does not matter who the phasing player is or what the DEFCON is.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D L
Malaysia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Question about Cuban Missile Crisis
Ok, that's the answer I was looking for. Thanks, pilight!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Железный комиссар
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Question about Cuban Missile Crisis
pilight wrote:
If the US plays Cuban Missile Crisis as an event, The USSR loses as soon as they declare a coup in that turn (unless they first remove influence from Cuba). It does not matter who the phasing player is or what the DEFCON is.


This is the correct answer and can be found in the collected rulings. Losing to CMC occurs before Global Thermonuclear War (defcon 1) so the normal phasing player considerations do not apply.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.