GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,201 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
21 Days Left

Support:

Joel Furman
United States
Elmhurst
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I have never posted a session report before, but today's battlefield events just begged for recording.

My wife and I have been playing through CC:A scenarios for a couple months. We are now moving into Expansion #1 and tonight we sat down for a Marathon session.

She took the Greeks and I took the Persians. As is her custom, she asked right away, "Who is supposed to win this one?" I assured her that it was supposed to be her side. Six cards later (2 Line Commands, a First Strike, and a Leadership Any Section for her and two utterly forgettable cards for me) the 6 banners to nil massacre was complete. I could not believe a stack of Auxilia troops that large could be removed in so short of a time span. I had tried to go toe to toe, but the Greek Heavies were too much for me.

I demanded an immediate rematch with the goal of at least winning one banner. I decided that my strategy the second time would be much more defensive. I originally planned to make a concerted effort to get my cavalry out and park all my Light units in the river where they would be on equal footing with all comers.