GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,033 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
18 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Cyclades» Forums » Reviews

Subject: Cyclades - Power Grid done right! (duck) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Emivaldo Sousa
Brazil
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
To me, Power Grid is an auction game. It wasn’t maybe supposed to be just an auction game, as you have the board and the market and so on, but I think that the auction is, after all, the dominating aspect of the game. I will not elaborate further on this as I have already discussed it on my review of that game, but that’s my impression about Power Grid.

When I started playing Cyclades and saw that the auction mechanism was responsible for your actions and turn order, it became clear that the auction in Cyclades would be an important feature, so important that the whole game would revolve around it and I thought: can it work?

My worries were based on the fact that I think Power Grid is a mechanically sound but ultimately boring game, and the auction mechanism is kind of an overused feature to force interaction mostly in Eurogames, but sometimes in Ameritrash games as well.

And while to me Power Grid fails when it adds math to its auctions, I think that Bruno Cathala made a good call when choosing to add even more interaction and open conflict to the auctions in Cyclades.

This is nothing new, of course, and, to be honest, Cyclades is not terribly original in any of its mechanisms:
1. Combat is Risk style: throw the dice and add the number of units. In a smart move, the dice variation goes from zero to three.
2. Special powers (a.k.a. Mythical Creatures) are bought on a track that changes every turn.
3. The auction is exactly the same as in Amun-Ra.