GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,871 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
15 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Do You Worship Cthulhu?» Forums » General

Subject: Isn't this really a RPG? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aleksander R. Nordgarden Rødner
Norway
Oslo
Oslo
flag msg tools
designer
Proud father of Sarah Arwen and Ruth Rose
badge
Would really like to study U.S. History at some point, just to be able to say that I'm a Coolidge student...
mbmbmbmbmb
First off, the only components here are the cards. Second of all, the game revolves around arguing about who gets lynched, making it very much like a LARP in a box.

To me, at any rate, this is definitely a RPG.

Thoughts?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johan Rising
Sweden
flag msg tools
Quote:
First off, the only components here are the cards. Second of all, the game revolves around arguing about who gets lynched, making it very much like a LARP in a box.

It's definitely a very social game, just like most party games. I mean; Apples to Apples is also just a bunch of cards, and the gameplay experience is really about the social dynamics between the players.

But I think it would be a mistake to label all social games as Roleplaying Games because they're really quite different. First of all, in a roleplaying game you're playing a character - not a set of abilities. In Do you Worship Cthulhu (as in Werewolf and other Werewolf-type games) you might get assigned a special ability of some kind, but you're still yourself and everyone expect you to play the best you can. The game would break down completely if the players would start to actually roleplay, like pretending to be stupid villagers, casting votes willy-nilly, or something like that.