GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,221 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
17 Days Left

Support:

Andrew Swan
Australia
Randwick
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My question is whether a player may (during an AP action) spend CAPs instead of APs if they have a choice.

For instance, if I have a unit that costs 4 AP to fire and 2 AP to move; 7 APs for that unit; and 7 CAPs; can I do this (on successive turns of course):
d10-1 spend 3 AP + 1 CAP to fire (4 AP left => unit remains activated), then
d10-2 spend 1 AP + 3 CAP to fire (3 AP left => unit remains activated), then
d10-3 spend 1 AP + 3 CAP to fire (2 AP left => unit remains activated), then
d10-4 spend 2 AP + 0 CAP to move (0 AP left => unit is spent)

Or must I spend APs before CAPs whenever possible, e.g. the most times I can fire is twice, like this:
d10-1 spend 4 AP + 0 CAP to fire (3 AP left => unit remains activated), then
d10-2 spend 3 AP + 1 CAP to fire (0 AP left => unit is spent)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Krach
Germany
Potsdam
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you can use CAPs whenevrer you like to do whatever you want. The Actuall APs are unchanged and can be used later on.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Palmer
Canada
Ayr
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can substitute CAPs for APs whenever you'd like. You don't have to wait for the APs to run out. Not that there's much reason for you to want to do this. (It doesn't really help to spend CAPs to keep your unit activated longer.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
game_boy wrote:
My question is whether a player may (during an AP action) spend CAPs instead of APs if they have a choice.

For instance, if I have a unit that costs 4 AP to fire and 2 AP to move; 7 APs for that unit; and 7 CAPs; can I do this (on successive turns of course):
d10-1 spend 3 AP + 1 CAP to fire (4 AP left => unit remains activated), then
d10-2 spend 1 AP + 3 CAP to fire (3 AP left => unit remains activated), then
d10-3 spend 1 AP + 3 CAP to fire (2 AP left => unit remains activated), then
d10-4 spend 2 AP + 0 CAP to move (0 AP left => unit is spent)

Or must I spend APs before CAPs whenever possible, e.g. the most times I can fire is twice, like this:
d10-1 spend 4 AP + 0 CAP to fire (3 AP left => unit remains activated), then
d10-2 spend 3 AP + 1 CAP to fire (0 AP left => unit is spent)


What difference does it make? There's no advantage to the former over the latter, unless I'm missing your point.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francois Trudel
Canada
Brossard
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
game_boy wrote:

d10-1 spend 3 AP + 1 CAP to fire (4 AP left => unit remains activated), then
d10-2 spend 1 AP + 3 CAP to fire (3 AP left => unit remains activated), then
d10-3 spend 1 AP + 3 CAP to fire (2 AP left => unit remains activated), then
d10-4 spend 2 AP + 0 CAP to move (0 AP left => unit is spent)


You seem to use Caps to extend the use of your unit. You don't want it to get the spent status...

game_boy wrote:

d10-1 spend 4 AP + 0 CAP to fire (3 AP left => unit remains activated), then
d10-2 spend 3 AP + 1 CAP to fire (0 AP left => unit is spent)


Even a spent unit can fire or move using Caps.. so in that example, you could use your 6 Caps left to :

d10-3 spend 0 AP + 4 CAP to fire (0 AP left => unit is spent)
d10-4 spend 0 AP + 2 CAP to move (0 AP left => unit is spent)

bottom line, the result is the same
fired 3 time,
moved 1.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Palmer
Canada
Ayr
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You're really better off saving the CAPs and having your unit spent sooner. Once he's spent, you still have the CAPs to have that same unit do actions while at the same time you can activate a different unit, so you leave yourself with more options.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Swan
Australia
Randwick
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks all for your answers; I get it now. thumbsup
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.