GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,838 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
19 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Dominion: Intrigue» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can a Thief take a Harem card? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jean Blakley
United States
Miami
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can a Thief take a harem card? It functions as a treasure...but that sure makes the thief extra powerful!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon
United States
Redmond
Washington
flag msg tools
Plaatsvervangende Schaamte
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Yes, because it is a Treasure card.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave G
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
El Chupacabratwurst
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
canejean wrote:
Can a Thief take a harem card? It functions as a treasure...but that sure makes the thief extra powerful!


It definitely does, but more important to note for your understanding of the rules: Harem does not function as a treasure card. Harem is a card of the type "Treasure." A thief can also take a Potion, because it is a "Treasure." Similarly, any other card that does something to "Treasure" cards will also work on the Harem. Mine, Scout, Herbalist, etc.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jean Blakley
United States
Miami
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wolfe
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Zendo fan, Columbus Blue Jackets fan, Dominion Fan.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the Harem is a Treasure, so it's affected by Thief and other cards that affect Treasure. It's also a Victory card, so it's also affected by cards that affect Victory cards.

Fun with weird combos:
Action Phase:
Village (2 actions remaining)
Village (3 actions remaining)
Village (4 actions remaining)
Mine (trash Potion, gain Harem into hand)
Courtyard (draw 3, put Harem on top of deck)
Scout (reveal 4 from deck, put Harem and other Victory cards in hand)
Herbalist
Buy Phase:
Play Treasure cards, including Harem, buy stuff
Cleanup Phase:
Discard Herbalist and use its power to put Harem on top of deck
Discard other cards in hand and in play
Draw a new hand (which includes Harem)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Branko K.
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jeffwolfe wrote:
Yes, the Harem is a Treasure, so it's affected by Thief and other cards that affect Treasure. It's also a Victory card, so it's also affected by cards that affect Victory cards.

Fun with weird combos:
Action Phase:
Village (2 actions remaining)
Village (3 actions remaining)
Village (4 actions remaining)
Mine (trash Potion, gain Harem into hand)
Courtyard (draw 3, put Harem on top of deck)
Scout (reveal 4 from deck, put Harem and other Victory cards in hand)
Herbalist
Buy Phase:
Play Treasure cards, including Harem, buy stuff
Cleanup Phase:
Discard Herbalist and use its power to put Harem on top of deck
Discard other cards in hand and in play
Draw a new hand (which includes Harem)


I will definitely try this next time I have 3 Villages, Mine, Courtyard, Potion, Scout and Herbalist in my hand!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wolfe
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Zendo fan, Columbus Blue Jackets fan, Dominion Fan.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
baba44713 wrote:
jeffwolfe wrote:
Yes, the Harem is a Treasure, so it's affected by Thief and other cards that affect Treasure. It's also a Victory card, so it's also affected by cards that affect Victory cards.

Fun with weird combos:
Action Phase:
Village (2 actions remaining)
Village (3 actions remaining)
Village (4 actions remaining)
Mine (trash Potion, gain Harem into hand)
Courtyard (draw 3, put Harem on top of deck)
Scout (reveal 4 from deck, put Harem and other Victory cards in hand)
Herbalist
Buy Phase:
Play Treasure cards, including Harem, buy stuff
Cleanup Phase:
Discard Herbalist and use its power to put Harem on top of deck
Discard other cards in hand and in play
Draw a new hand (which includes Harem)


I will definitely try this next time I have 3 Villages, Mine, Courtyard, Potion, Scout and Herbalist in my hand!

You don't need all 8 of them in hand at the start. You could get the combo going even if you've discarded for Militia or Torturer.

Start with, say, Village, Potion, Courtyard
Village draws second Village
Second Village draws third Village
Third Village draws Mine
...then later...
Courtyard draws Scout and Herbalist

Easy peasy!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Any card that says "Treasure" at the bottom is a Treasure.
If the Thief couldn't take Treasures, it would be utterly useless.
2 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anonymous Lastname
msg tools
Yeah, a dual-type card is considered both types simultaneously for all purposes. So if you Transmute a Harem, you get a Gold and a Transmute, because you transmuted a victory card and you transmuted a treasure card. If you Ironworks a Great Hall, you get another card and another action. If you reveal a Harem and a Nobles with Tribute, you get four cards, two money, and two actions. And if you reveal a Harem with Thief, you can take it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.