GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,203 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
17 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Chicago Express» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cost to build into a city rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gary Heidenreich
United States
Milwaukee
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
MilwaukeeTEG
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When building into a plains hex it costs the amount noted in the hex multiplied by the number of trains in that hex.

So, a couple of questions off of that.

First, does this count for cities? Multiplying the cost by the number of trains in the city hex.

Second, would a narrow guage railroad in a plains hex also count as train for multiplcation purposes?

We played 'yes' for both.

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Yes.

2)Not sure as I don't have the expansion.
2 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Lundström
Sweden
Täby
flag msg tools
Now who are these five?
badge
Come, come, all children who love fairy tales.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Echoing ColtsFan76:

Yes for the first.
Don't know for the second; don't own it.

Edit: Remember, the cost is the hex cost * the number of trains in it including this new train that's just building there. Don't count the # or trains before building. If you wish the formula to work counting the trains before you build there, it's HexCost*(NumberOfTrains+1)

Edited: * not +, dammit!
2 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Cheevers
United Kingdom
Liverpool
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bop517 wrote:
Second, would a narrow guage railroad in a plains hex also count as train for multiplcation purposes?


I've just checked the rules and the answer is yes.
2 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Heidenreich
United States
Milwaukee
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
MilwaukeeTEG
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you all!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Rosgen
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Zimeon wrote:
Echoing ColtsFan76:
Edit: Remember, the cost is the hex cost + the number of trains in it including this new train that's just building there.


For clarity, I think you mean that the cost is the base cost multiplied by the number of trains. At least, this is what your second formula states.

I'm sorry to be such a pedant: I'm trying to avoid further confusion.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Asdnart wrote:
Zimeon wrote:
Echoing ColtsFan76:
Edit: Remember, the cost is the hex cost + the number of trains in it including this new train that's just building there.


For clarity, I think you mean that the cost is the base cost multiplied by the number of trains. At least, this is what your second formula states.

I'm sorry to be such a pedant: I'm trying to avoid further confusion.

That's what he said in the text you quoted. It is the printed cost X the number of trains there including the one you are building.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Rosgen
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
ColtsFan76 wrote:
That's what he said in the text you quoted. It is the printed cost X the number of trains there including the one you are building.


Where I'm from we usually use '*' or 'x' to denote multiplication, not '+'?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Asdnart wrote:
ColtsFan76 wrote:
That's what he said in the text you quoted. It is the printed cost X the number of trains there including the one you are building.


Where I'm from we usually use '*' or 'x' to denote multiplication, not '+'?

Good catch. Knowing the right way, I read it as a X and not a +!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.