GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,231 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
20 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Grind» Forums » Rules

Subject: Diagonal movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Boyd
United States
Morehead City
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I need to know if a steamjack or grinder can move diagonally between 2 obstacles.

The S is a steamjack, the O's are obstructions and the X is the space the steamjack will move to.

SO
OX

I have looked on the forums and f.a.q. but couldn't find an answer.

On one hand I would guess you can since the rules say "A steamjack cannot move through an obstruction or into a space occupied by an obstruction."
Technically your moving into the diagonal square and not entering the obstruction's square.
On the other hand line of sight would be blocked in that situation so I could say that a steamjack can't fit between two obstacles he can't even see through.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Buchler
United States
Escanaba
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've played it that you can't squeeze between two jacks by going diagonally between them, but yeah, the rulebook doesn't give a definitive answer (at least not that I've found).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Boyd
United States
Morehead City
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SorenK23 wrote:
I've played it that you can't squeeze between two jacks by going diagonally between them, but yeah, the rulebook doesn't give a definitive answer (at least not that I've found).


Thanks for the reply! I was beginning to think no one would answer:)
I think I agree with your answer. To many messy situations can come up if it is allowed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikko Pollari
Finland
Helsinki
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule you are using for movement is logical.

Now instead of moving, would you accept steamjack to use ranged weapons to that space? The rule for "line of sight" fulfills.

In my games I don't allow the movement but I allow the ranged attack
between two blocking spaces. How have you been playing?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikko Pollari
Finland
Helsinki
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry, I noticed a mistake from my previous question.

From FAQ
Q:A4. Can you use a ranged weapon on adjacent space?
A:No. Self explained.


But can you trace the line of sight between those two figures and
target the attack at 2-3 spaces farther?


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Boyd
United States
Morehead City
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nysalor wrote:
Sorry, I noticed a mistake from my previous question.

From FAQ
Q:A4. Can you use a ranged weapon on adjacent space?
A:No. Self explained.


But can you trace the line of sight between those two figures and
target the attack at 2-3 spaces farther?



I don't have the rules with me but I'm sure line of sight is blocked.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Lundström
Sweden
Täby
flag msg tools
Now who are these five?
badge
Come, come, all children who love fairy tales.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nysalor wrote:
Sorry, I noticed a mistake from my previous question.

From FAQ
Q:A4. Can you use a ranged weapon on adjacent space?
A:No. Self explained.


But can you trace the line of sight between those two figures and
target the attack at 2-3 spaces farther?


Line of sight is DEFINITELY blocked.

Line if sight isn't traced from the middle of the space you're in to the center of the space you want to see; it's traced from the center of the SIDE YOU'RE FACING on the space you're in, to the center of ANY SIDE on the space you want to see.

If you have a jack right in front of you, you will not be able to trace line of sight to anything diagonally in front of you, even slightly. You'd only have LoS straight sideways.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.