GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,183 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
18 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Brass: Lancashire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules I've been playing wrong rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Baig
Canada
Kingston
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
What the Hell are YOU staring at?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought I'd make a post to highlight a couple of perhaps obscure rules that at least I've been playing (and teaching!) incorrectly. Thank you to http://brass.orderofthehammer.com for teaching me the errors of my ways.

1: In the canal period, you can only build one industry in a city. I thought you could build multiple times in the same city.

2: You need to have a connection adjacent to a location in the canal phase (or have a pre-existing industry in that location in the rail phase) to build in a city with an industry card. I thought you merely needed to be connected through yours or other people's links.

I feel slightly sheepish about teaching these rules incorrectly, I wonder what else I've gotten wrong...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Brokaw
United States
Hillsboro
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
It's not a damn moped!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
adambaig wrote:
2: You need to have a connection adjacent to a location in the canal phase (or have a pre-existing industry in that location in the rail phase) to build in a city with an industy

...card

Yes, you must have a connection into a city, or have NO presence on the board, to build an industry in a city using an industry card (Cotton Mill, Iron Works, Coal Mine, etc.)

But, you can build an industry in a city using the CITY card with none of your own links into it. (Of course, you need to be linked to a source of coal and/or iron for some industries.)

I'm pretty sure these are the correct rules.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian
Germany
Hürth
NRW
flag msg tools
badge
I won an Games for Geekgold Lottery with 0.09% Chance of winning. You sure you wanna mess with me?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
adambaig wrote:
1: In the canal period, you can only build one industry in a city. I thought you could build multiple times in the same city.

I think the last time I did this one wrong too... damn! blush
Thanks for the note though!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Enrico Viglino
United States
Eugene
OR
flag msg tools
Slowed - BGG's moderation policies have driven me partially from here
badge
http://thegamebox.byethost15.com/smf/
Avatar
mb
I find I know the rules, on reading them,
but there are so many of these that I almost
always screw one up.

There's a list of commonly forgotten ones,
which should help, but it's missing a couple.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Åberg
Sweden
Borås
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Don´t forget that you can spend both your actions in a round to discard whichever 2 cards you want and build a industry in any city as long as it is not in the canal era where you cannot build an industry where you already have one..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.