GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,246 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
17 Days Left

Support:

Mark Johnson
Canada
St.John's
Newfoundland
flag msg tools
designer
“Brothers, oh brothers, my days here are done, the Dornishman’s taken my life, But what does it matter, for all men must die, and I’ve tasted the Dornishman’s wife!”
badge
"Oak and iron guard me well, or else I'm dead and doomed to hell." - Andal proverb.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) The Golden Age of Terraforming states that it gives 2 points for Terraforming cards and 1 point for other 6 cost developments. If you have Terraforming Guild in your tableau, will the Guild card be worth 3 points when you tabulate Golden Age or 2?

2) If you have Contact Specialist and Colony ship in play, when it comes to the settle phase, can you use the Specialists power to place a Military as a Non-Military and then discard Colony Ship to play Rebel Stronghold for free?

3) If I have Psi-Crystal World and a player reveals Prestige/Search, do they have to name what they're using the card for before I decide my action card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Biodiesel
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. No, each card is only counted once per 6-cost dev. So it will only count for 2 points toward Golden-Age.

2. This does not allow you settle 2 worlds in one phase like your example, but you can use the Specialist and Colony Ship together to settle a massive military (non-alien) world for free. If you had Improved Logistics, you could do both (but you can only use the Colony Ship once).

3. Good question. I'd say "yes".
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge Levert
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
2) With Contact Specialist, you can discard Colony Ship to play Rebel Stronghold for free.

3) Yes.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Børge N
Norway
Porsgrunn
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sappington wrote:
1. No, each card is only counted once per 6-cost dev.

In theory, yes. But a notable exception to this is Pan-Galactic Mediator towards Universal Peace Institute, since the Mediator gives -1 Military, to be counted towards the Peace Institute's negative military score.

3. When Prestige bonus is used, the corresponding phase is to be named (or revealed together) while revealing phases. Psi-Crystal World's power says "after other player's actions are revealed". So Yes on this one as well.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Once the Geek has you, there is no escape...
United States
Binghamton
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
3. Are you asking if they have to name what they're Searching for OR whether they are using the Prestige "Enhancement" or the Search Action?

I'm fairly certain players do NOT have to name what they're Searching for until after all players (including Psi-Crystal Guy) select they're Actions.

The Prestige card enhances a normal Action and is supposed to be played with the Action it is enhancing. The Search Action is an Action itself and replaces a normal Action. This should be all the indication you need.

There was a nice thread fairly recently in which a lot of good conventions for doing all this were described. Here's the link.

Edited to include link.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Brough
msg tools
mbmb
For 3, note that for Search, the search category is selected during the resolution of the search action, NOT during action selection. So they don't have to name what they're searching for until you decide your action.
(But they do have to name whether it's being used as Prestige or Search, and if Prestige, what phase it applies to.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Schadt
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Eeeville wrote:
1) The Golden Age of Terraforming states that it gives 2 points for Terraforming cards and 1 point for other 6 cost developments. If you have Terraforming Guild in your tableau, will the Guild card be worth 3 points when you tabulate Golden Age or 2?


"other 6-cost developments." It's right there on the card: if you've already counted Terraforming Guild as a Terraforming card, it no longer qualifies as an "other 6-cost development." Ergo, 2 points.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Eeeville wrote:
3) If I have Psi-Crystal World and a player reveals Prestige/Search, do they have to name what they're using the card for before I decide my action card?


Well, for my groups, we use the convention in the rulebook such that the OPG (once per game) action card is either paired up with another action card to show the Prestige bonus gets added on top of that phase or used on its own, in lieu of an action card to indicate a "super search" (this is getting a bit "vernacular-y", but I try not to say "prestige" when search is involved to make it more clear that you do NOT need to expend a PP (prestige point)).

If you don't do it this way, then my call would be everyone who's using their OPG action card to get either the prestige bonus or super search would need to declare it at the time of flipping their action cards. Those using their OPG for a "super search" would then declare what category they're searching when it comes time to do the super search, so this would be after you flip your action card when using the Psi-Crystal World ability.

.

Sappington wrote:
2. This does not allow you settle 2 worlds in one phase like your example, but you can use the Specialist and Colony Ship together to settle a massive military (non-alien) world for free. If you had Improved Logistics, you could do both (but you can only use the Colony Ship once).


Agreed, except I feel compelled to further clarify that I would've used the term either "non-yellow" world or "non-alien goods world". In my groups, when you say "alien world", they often mistakenly think that the power also applies to gray worlds that say ALIEN in the title, or any other world card that says ALIEN. (e.g. Someone mistakenly thought he could settle Alien Booby Trap, a gray military world using Alien Research Team's power in lieu of having military strength...
e.g.2 or how another person mistakenly applied Deserted Alien World's discount towards a blue world, Alien Burial Site)

.

borgemik wrote:
Sappington wrote:
1. No, each card is only counted once per 6-cost dev.

In theory, yes. But a notable exception to this is Pan-Galactic Mediator towards Universal Peace Institute, since the Mediator gives -1 Military, to be counted towards the Peace Institute's negative military score.


There are no exceptions to this (6-cost scoring). Tom chimes in alot on these forums (so it can be difficult for me to remember certain, specific points), but I'm fairly certain he has clarified that Pan Galactic Mediator only scores for -1 military OR itself as 2pts, in which case the latter is the better option.

If I manage to find that post, I'll link it, and perhaps be proven wrong that this indeed IS an exception



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Johnson
Canada
St.John's
Newfoundland
flag msg tools
designer
“Brothers, oh brothers, my days here are done, the Dornishman’s taken my life, But what does it matter, for all men must die, and I’ve tasted the Dornishman’s wife!”
badge
"Oak and iron guard me well, or else I'm dead and doomed to hell." - Andal proverb.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ryudoowaru wrote:
"other 6-cost developments." It's right there on the card: if you've already counted Terraforming Guild as a Terraforming card, it no longer qualifies as an "other 6-cost development." Ergo, 2 points.


That's what I had assumed, however I thought it possible that the "other" could have just been referring to itself rather than "any other 6 cost development that hasn't been tabulated from the terraforming section", given the fact that the Guild is the only other 6 cost terraforming development.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Once the Geek has you, there is no escape...
United States
Binghamton
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ackmondual wrote:
borgemik wrote:
Sappington wrote:
1. No, each card is only counted once per 6-cost dev.

In theory, yes. But a notable exception to this is Pan-Galactic Mediator towards Universal Peace Institute, since the Mediator gives -1 Military, to be counted towards the Peace Institute's negative military score.


There are no exceptions to this (6-cost scoring). Tom chimes in alot on these forums (so it can be difficult for me to remember certain, specific points), but I'm fairly certain he has clarified that Pan Galactic Mediator only scores for -1 military OR itself as 2pts, in which case the latter is the better option.

If I manage to find that post, I'll link it, and perhaps be proven wrong that this indeed IS an exception
Actually, Tom has confirmed that you receive 3 points from Universal Peace Institute from Pan-Galactic Mediator (2 for itself and 1 for its negative military).
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Eeeville wrote:
If I have Psi-Crystal World and a player reveals Prestige/Search, do they have to name what they're using the card for before I decide my action card?

If they are using the P/S action card for a prestige opportunity, they either have to A) also flip over the action card for the phase they intend to call; or B) name the phase *as* they flip it over (not afterwards); or C) use some other agreed-upon convention, such as the phase that it applies to is the bottom (or top) card of their remaining action cards.

Unlike Search, Prestige Opportunity *modifies* an action card which is chosen during normal action selection (by whatever convention your group wants to use); therefore it occurs before PSW's power.

Search *replaces* your action. The search category is not chosen until the search step is actually performed (after PSW's power has been used).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
TheMadVulcan wrote:
Tom has confirmed that you receive 3 points from Universal Peace Institute from Pan-Galactic Mediator (2 for itself and 1 for its negative military).

Correct. We reduced the bonus amount for PGM from 3 to 2. It's simply easier to total military separately without having to worry about whether some cards count towards this total or not.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Eeeville wrote:
If I have Psi-Crystal World and a player reveals Prestige/Search, do they have to name what they're using the card for before I decide my action card?


Just to repeat what Tom is saying in a different way, if they play their Prestige/Search card they are supposed to decide what they are using it for before any other player's choices are revealed. If they are trying to delay until they have information about what other people are choosing, they are gaming the system.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TheMadVulcan wrote:
ackmondual wrote:
borgemik wrote:
Sappington wrote:
1. No, each card is only counted once per 6-cost dev.

In theory, yes. But a notable exception to this is Pan-Galactic Mediator towards Universal Peace Institute, since the Mediator gives -1 Military, to be counted towards the Peace Institute's negative military score.


There are no exceptions to this (6-cost scoring). Tom chimes in alot on these forums (so it can be difficult for me to remember certain, specific points), but I'm fairly certain he has clarified that Pan Galactic Mediator only scores for -1 military OR itself as 2pts, in which case the latter is the better option.

If I manage to find that post, I'll link it, and perhaps be proven wrong that this indeed IS an exception
Actually, Tom has confirmed that you receive 3 points from Universal Peace Institute from Pan-Galactic Mediator (2 for itself and 1 for its negative military).
Just to be sure, UPI + PGM means PGM is worth 4pts?
2pts from UPI's scoring of PGM
1pt from PGM's face/intrinsic value
1pt from UPI's scoring of negative military

And for extra credit, UPI on itself scores an additional 2pts since it provides -2 military strength.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge Levert
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ackmondual wrote:
Just to be sure, UPI + PGM means PGM is worth 4pts?
2pts from UPI's scoring of PGM
1pt from PGM's face/intrinsic value
1pt from UPI's scoring of negative military

And for extra credit, UPI on itself scores an additional 2pts since it provides -2 military strength.

Yes, yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.