Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Spearpoint 1943» Forums » Rules

Subject: Close Assaulting a Tank rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew S. Fischer
United States
Devon
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
The rules say that three infantry units can "group together" and do this. Does that mean that the three infantry cards are stacked together as one group? Then, if successfully attacked, all three would suffer damage from a single hit? This may be necessary because...

... close assaulting looks very powerful. If the rifle squad's rating is 10 (as pictured), its 3-card group will successfully assault 64% of the time, with an expected damage of app. 16 (5.5 x 3) less the tank's defense strength -- enough to cause damage almost every time or even destroy some tanks outright.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Collins
United States
Suffolk
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
asfhgwt wrote:
The rules say that three infantry units can "group together" and do this. Does that mean that the three infantry cards are stacked together as one group? Then, if successfully attacked, all three would suffer damage from a single hit? This may be necessary because...

... close assaulting looks very powerful. If the rifle squad's rating is 10 (as pictured), its 3-card group will successfully assault 64% of the time, with an expected damage of app. 16 (5.5 x 3) less the tank's defense strength -- enough to cause damage almost every time or even destroy some tanks outright.


Andrew,

A close assault can be broken up, which makes it risky. If any of the three units is destroyed before the close assault happens, it's no longer a legal close assault. A minimum of three infantry have to group together--- so if one is taken out, the close assault doesn't happen. That makes it a risk to the assaulter.

The other key is that if the group misses or if the close assault is broken up, all of those units miss that may have been otherwise able to fire upon and damage other soft targets that turn. So Close assault is powerful, but risky, and it's meant to give infantry an ability to do something if they're facing a tank and otherwise could not hit the tank.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew S. Fischer
United States
Devon
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Good response. Makes sense!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Tullsen
United States
VANCOUVER
WA
flag msg tools
designer
48 hour turnaround time for Prototypes!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
asfhgwt wrote:
Does that mean that the three infantry cards are stacked together as one group? Then, if successfully attacked, all three would suffer damage from a single hit?


I'm not sure you've answered this part. The rules don't seem to indicate that this happens - could you clarify Byron?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Collins
United States
Suffolk
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Howitzer_120mm wrote:
asfhgwt wrote:
Does that mean that the three infantry cards are stacked together as one group? Then, if successfully attacked, all three would suffer damage from a single hit?


I'm not sure you've answered this part. The rules don't seem to indicate that this happens - could you clarify Byron?


The infantry cards are still considered separate units- a single attack against the group close assaulting does not do damage to them all. Consider them attacking from multiple angles.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Collarin
United States
Charlotte
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules state for Close Assualt that you use 1d10 for each infantry attacking and apply it against the defense.

So, for defense, is it just the value in the shield? What about the endurance of the unit? Does this factor in at all?

EDIT: Just found the answer in the FAQ... Back to battle!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.