GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,702 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
19 Days Left

Support:

Derry Salewski
United States
Augusta
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
I'm only happy when it rains...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've seen it referenced that the exiled set introduced the need for a player to control two outer regions before being able to attack a home base.

How exactly does this work?

Is it on the star base cards themselves? Do they have to be upgraded? Can you attack the home region, but just not fire on the base?

As of right now, I just have a bunch of the first set, but the new rule seems to make a lot more sense!

Thanks so much!

(A scan of one of the new cards would probably be really helpful!)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All four of the new starbases implement the two outer region requirement as their upgraded ability. It's not really a new rule, but more of a "magic bullet" to kill a starbase rush strategy.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derry Salewski
United States
Augusta
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
I'm only happy when it rains...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow, quick!

Is that power something that is meant to be part of what they're worth, as a choice for playing with, or is it just tacked on.

Can I just pretend all the other bases have that written on them as well, or would that make them too powerful? (though, I guess it would still be even, since they'd both have the ability.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is their upgraded special ability in its entirety, so you choose that starbase when you build your deck instead of choosing Venal Tower or whatever -- It would be unbalanced to add that power to other starbases.

Of course nothing is stopping you from just house ruling that the limit is a standard rule.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derry Salewski
United States
Augusta
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
I'm only happy when it rains...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks a lot!

I haven't been able to find images anywhere!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian d'Auberge
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
The Exiled card images
You can view the card images here:

http://ccggamez.com/index.php?opcja=listakart&idgry=167&ided...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derry Salewski
United States
Augusta
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
I'm only happy when it rains...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.