GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,704 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Last Night on Earth: The Zombie Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: subtracting from dice roll?...why? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hugh Ashman
Australia
Melton
Victoria
flag msg tools
just a quick one,why would you subtract from a 1 from a fight dice roll,don't you always want high numbers?

"Farmer Sty

Prevent any one Zombie from moving this turn.
or
Add or subtract 1 from any Fight Dice roll.

"Who's in here? I told you kids to stay outta my barn!""
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noshrok Grimskull
Germany
Bremen
Bremen
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Wreckers don't call for backup, they call for cleanup!
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Well, it says "Add or subtract 1 from any Fight Dice roll.", so I'd say that you can also subrtact 1 from somebody else's roll. Still, the outcome would normally be the same as when you add 1 to your roll, unless special circumstances grant someone a special ability or other bonus on the roll of a certain number - then it can be important whether you want to add to your roll or subtract from theirs.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikkel Rasmussen
Denmark
Helsingør
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hughnme wrote:
just a quick one,why would you subtract from a 1 from a fight dice roll,don't you always want high numbers?

"Farmer Sty

Prevent any one Zombie from moving this turn.
or
Add or subtract 1 from any Fight Dice roll.

"Who's in here? I told you kids to stay outta my barn!""


If I understand your question correctly, this card (Farmer Sty) can be used on a Zombies fight dice, so you subtract 1 from his fight-dice...that not bad

(Correct me if i'am wrong!)

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ax Bits
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
maxell wrote:
If I understand your question correctly, this card (Farmer Sty) can be used on a Zombies fight dice, so you subtract 1 from his fight-dice...that not bad

(Correct me if i'am wrong!)



You're right
Farmer Sty can be used on any fights dice (zed or heroes). So you might want to drop that zed die from a 6 to a 5 so your double 6 still kills, instead of bumping one of your 6s to a 7 and merely fending off.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Brichs
Denmark
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Maxx_Pointy wrote:
maxell wrote:
If I understand your question correctly, this card (Farmer Sty) can be used on a Zombies fight dice, so you subtract 1 from his fight-dice...that not bad :)

(Correct me if i'am wrong!)



You're wrong :)
Farmer Sty can be used on any fights dice (zed or heroes). So you might want to drop that zed die from a 6 to a 5 so your double 6 still kills, instead of bumping one of your 6s to a 7 and merely fending off.


Isn't that what Mikkel said?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hugh Ashman
Australia
Melton
Victoria
flag msg tools
awesome,thanks guys,first game tonight,hope i remember it all
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ax Bits
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Brichs wrote:
Isn't that what Mikkel said?


Yeah, had a brain fart.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darel Robinson
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But Ax, you added a valid example which helped understand why, so thanks for your input, made more sense to me. I'm off to play Growing Hunger now, thanks to my secret santa.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.