Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

PQ-17: Arctic Naval Operations 1941-1943» Forums » Rules

Subject: Split their fire - air to air combat question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patrick B
United States
Saint Louis
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
7.2.2 " Scrambled units may split their fire, but must match attacking Fighter CS one-for-one before they may fire on other types of air units."

Does this mean a scrambled 2 str air unit, could send one dieroll against 1 fighter, and another dieroll against another different fighter?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Janiec
United States
(Teller County)
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
That's correct. But before attacking any Bombers, the scrambling Fighters have to match up against every attacking Fighter CS. For example, if two 2CS Fighters scramble against one 2CS and two 1CS attacking Fighters plus Bombers, one of the scrambling units would have to engage the 2CS attacker (2v2) while the other would have to split and engage both of the other attacking Fighter units (1v1 each). In the same example, if there was only one 1CS attacker instead of two, the second scrambling Fighter could split, engaging that attacking Fighter (1v1) and also attacking one Bomber unit with 1CS.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick B
United States
Saint Louis
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Thanks Chris.

A follow up question: "Scrambling prevents all attacking Fighter units from conducting bombing attacks."

Does this mean that if one single airplane scrambles against an 8 attacking airplanes...
1. Not one of the attacking airplanes could bomb/torpedo after the air-to-air combat?
2. 8 attacking airplanes (all) could not bomb, but 7 could?
3. The 8 attacking airplanes couldn't bomb, but could torpedo with no issue?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Janiec
United States
(Teller County)
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
4. None of the above.

Scrambling prevents all Fighters from bombing (they can't carry torpedoes, so that's not an issue). It doesn't prevent any Bombers from bombing or launching torpedoes. So if the 8 attacking air units in your example consisted of three Fighters and five Bombers, even though two of the Fighters wouldn't be engaged in air combat by the lone scrambling interceptor, those two would not be able to bomb.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.