Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Back in the day, my brother and I used to enjoy playing Axis & Allies against each other. I'm finding now that I'd like to get another WWII game for my collection.

The games that have caught my eye have been Memoir '44 and Tide of Iron.

Memoir '44 has caught my eye because it has a short playing time.

Tide of Iron has caught my eye because it's FFG.

I am unlikely to pick up any expansions right off the bat, so I'd want the best game 'out of the box' as it were. I'm pretty new to wargaming in general, but I would like to have a reasonably complex game. I'd also like good components.

So, what do you like about these games? What don't you like? What should I pick, and why?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Young
Wales
Wellesley
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
And if you never have, you should. These things are fun and fun is good.
mbmbmbmbmb
Neither.

Because.

devil
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Savage Josh
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
medievalbanquet wrote:
Neither.

Because.

:devil:

That is certianly easier on the pocketbook.

Though, the reasoning is a bit...lacking. :)
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Linnell
United States
Bedford
NH
flag msg tools
I really need a new badge, avatar, and overtext. GM me with any ideas....
badge
This is the seahorse valley
mb
I can't talk to Tide of Iron, but I've played Memoir '44 (and BattleLore, it's fantasy cousin) and find it to be excellent. Easy to learn and play, and a good selection of scenarios to play. It does have a considerable amount of luck to it, so keep that in mind. If nothing else i would recommend it over Tide of Iron because you can actually take Memoir '44 to someone else's house without killing the suspension in your pickup. I also find the huge amount of expansion support to be a plus, just in case you do like the game.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide