Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Dominion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Optional Action Clarificatoin rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason DeWitt
United States
Rushville
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
We just want to clarify we are doing this correctly. Take a card like Embargo: "+2 copper Trash this card. Put an Embargo token on top of a Supply pile."

To make sure, and I think there are a couple others like this, this card is "either/or"? You either use it as 2 copper or you trash it, is that right? One of the other cards that does this, we ruled that you either play it and get the +2 or you trash it and get the effect. So is this right, you can't do both?

Or, is it both? You play it and get +2 copper and then you trash it and do what it says?

I can honestly see it both ways, just want some experienced advice. Tonight was our first night with Seaside, we've only been playing Dominion at all for about 8-10 weeks.

Also, just incase, if you can play it just for the copper, does using it for the copper take up the "action"?

Thanks in advance!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Neuhaus
United States
New York
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You played incorrectly. With embargo, you both get $2 and required to trash the card. Read straight down the card, execute the actions in order.

Cards that have choices explicitly say them.

Eg, for the pawn

Choose 2: +1 card, +1 action, +1 buy, +$1
(The choices must be different)

It explicatly says there is a choice.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason DeWitt
United States
Rushville
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thank you Rob! We'll need to fix that then. I appreciate the help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Parker
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
mb
Rob answered correctly below.

For cards like Minion or Pirate Ship, those are Either/Or-
Minion, you either get +2 money, or you do the "attack";
Pirate Ship, you either get +money built up from PS or do the "attack"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Goldfarb
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What they said: you do everything on the card, as much as you can, and you get no choice unless the card explicitly says there is a choice with words such as "you may" or "up to" or "or".
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Schaeffer
United States
Unspecified
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, just to avoid any confusion, when a card says +2 coins, you do not take 2 copper coins; it just adds 2 to the value of the coins you have in your hand when you come to your Buy phase.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.