GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,367 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
23 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Le Havre» Forums » Rules

Subject: Simple newbie questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Darryl with one "R"
United States
Redmond
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just played Le Havre for the first time last night. We really enjoyed the game, but had a question about shipping goods.

1) When one wants to ship goods, he would place his worker on the (already built) Shipping Line card, correct (and not somewhere else, like his own ship)?

2) If so, then in a 2P game where there's only one Shipping Line card, because of the limitation that only one worker may be in a given building at a given time, then only one person can ship at a given time (except on the Final Action in the last round). Correct?

3) I've read here that a worker remains in the last building where he worked until he's moved to another building. Additionally, I know that a worker cannot reuse the same building that he's already occupying. Given that, is the following sequence allowed?

- Turn 1: Use building A
- Turn 2: Remove worker from building A, and do not place him into another building (because, for example, the player doesn't want to use any of the already existing buildings)
- Turn 3: Use building A

I guess another way of asking this is: can one use the same building twice without using another building in between?

Thanks for the help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Rochelle
United States
Huntsville
Alabama
flag msg tools
9 92 33 JOFA
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Correct, the Shipping Line
2) Correct, only one at a time
3) Nope to your example, but Yes to the final question. Your worker can only be moved (as a "move the worker" action) into a building, not into "no building". Your worker only ends up out of a building if the building he's in is bought or sold (or if other stuff specifically indicates).

So your two-ship strategy could look like:
Turn 1: Move into the Shipping Line and ship
Turn 2: Buy/sell Shipping Line (evacuating your worker), and then move into the Shipping Line and ship.

Note that it only works if either you or the town owns the Shipping Line. All that said, it's hard to imagine that there's not *some* building that you could enter at no cost, even if you don't care about it, to satisfy the Ship-X-Ship action chain.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darryl with one "R"
United States
Redmond
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Excellent, thanks for the quick reply! All makes perfect sense. I appreciate the help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Bass
United States
Winston-Salem
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just wanted to mention one thing, since you said you're new to the game.

nbread wrote:
2) If so, then in a 2P game where there's only one Shipping Line card, because of the limitation that only one worker may be in a given building at a given time, then only one person can ship at a given time (except on the Final Action in the last round). Correct?

You cannot use the Shipping Line as your final action if your worker is currently sitting on the Shipping Line. You can only use a final action that your worker does not currently occupy. This adheres to the rule that a worker cannot use a building that he already occupies (even for the final action). Again, just an FYI, in case you didn't catch it in the rules.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.