Recommend
7 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Defenders of the Realm» Forums » Rules

Subject: Character questions: Ranger's Archery, Wizard's Fireball rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe F.
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Two questions:

1. Ranger's archery special power, is it used against all minions 1 square away(multiple locations) or is it against 1 square? Card reads: May attack enemy minions 1 space away as if they were in the same location.

2. Wizard's special power(fireball), when using it in a square with 2 blue and 1 red minion. The wizard plays a blue card and rolls the 2 blue and 1 red dice all rolls are a 3, does the red guy die? Care reads: Discard a card matching the color of the enemy minions to be attacked and roll combat dice. a 2+ incinerates minions, regardless of type
3 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Launius
United States
Johns Creek
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Character questions
The answer to your questions are as follows:


1. Ranger's archery special power, is it used against all minions 1 square away(multiple locations) or is it against 1 square? Card reads: May attack enemy minions 1 space away as if they were in the same location.

The Ranger can attack one of the adjacent locations for 1 action as if he were in that Location. He cannot attack all adjacent locations at the same time for 1 action.

Example: The Ranger is in Monarch City at the start of his turn and there are 2 Orcs in Father Oak Woods, 1 Dragonkin in Bounty Bay, and 2 Undead in the Dancing Stones. For 1 Action he can attack any one of these locations without moving into them so he spends his first of 5 actions to attack the Dancing Stones with 2 Undead and rolls 2 dice getting a 3 and a 5 result. He kills one of the Undead. He spends a second action to attack again hitting the undead with a 6 die roll. He decides to to move into the Father Oak Woods as his third action. He spends his forth action attacking the 2 Orcs in Father Oak Woods and since his target is in a green location with him he gains the +1 die bonus for Woods Lore and rolls 2 dice (one for each Orc present) gaining a 2 and a 4 hitting both (You need a 3+ to kill Orcs and he achieves this with his Wood Lore Bonus). With four actions spent and the desire to end his turn on a Green location to gain the Elf Support extra action next turn he looks at all adjacent spaces and sees that he has 1 Dragonkin in Rock Bridge Pass and 1 Demon in Pleasant Hill. Because the Demon is easier to kill than the Dragonkin (the Demon requires a 4+ to hit and the Dragonkin a 5+) he spends his fifth and final action firing at the Demon and gets a 4 removing it from the location. He ends his turn by Drawing 2 cards, flipping his 5 action tokens back face up (and adding 1 temporary Action token from supply to be used on his next turn) and then resolves 1 Darkness Spreads card since the game is in the Early War status.

2. Wizard's special power(fireball) reads - Discard a card matching the color of the enemy minions to be attacked and roll combat dice. A 2+ incinerates minions, regardless of type. So when using it in a square with 2 blue and 1 red minion and the wizard plays a blue card and rolls the 2 blue and 1 red dice getting all rolls a 3, does the red minion die?

Yes - the spell enables the Wizard to discard a card that matches any of the Minions present and the dice rolled all will be successful in killing the minions on a roll of 2 or greater, even minions that do not match the color of the card played.

Thanks - Richard

11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Smith
United States
Troy
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Character questions
Richard Launius wrote:
He ends his turn by Drawing 2 cards, flipping his 5 action tokens back face up (and adding 1 temporary Action token from supply to be used on his next turn) and then resolves 1 Darkness Spreads card since the game is in the Early War status.


I hate to correct the designer, but flipping action tokens face up happens at the start of Step 1 - Daytime, not at the end of a turn. I'm not sure if there is a situation where this distinction is important, but it's probably best to follow the rules as written.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Launius
United States
Johns Creek
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Character questions
It is fine to follow the written rules, and there is no time it would make any difference whether you flipped them up at the end of your turn or at the beginning.

I always have players flip them up at the end of their turn, that way if we are planning activities and I see face down tokens by their hero card (as some people keep their tokens off the card, some on them) I know those face down are wounds (lost actions). Not real important either way and you are correct that the rules state to flip them up at the start of your turn.

Thanks - Richard
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.