GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,302 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
14 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

A Game of Thrones: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some questions after first game: rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Shane Ryan
United States
League City
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
1. Viserys Targaryen: Does his ability keep him from ever being discarded or removed from play except by cards that read "cannot be saved"? So he will always be in your hand?

2. Blood of the Dragon: what exactly is the 'Dragon' trait? Couldn't find it anywhere. Is it just a title that gives a bit of strength to other Targaryen cards that has no value on its own?

3. When you marshall cards that have abilities that can be used in the marshalling phase, can you use them immediately or do you have to wait for the next marshalling phase?

4. You've Killed the Wrong Dwarf - can you play this on an opponent, giving them 1 power but kneeling a character?

5. Shae can take herself and your strongest character out at any point during challenges?

6. Are the Kingsmoot and Civil War variants enjoyable


Thanks for the replies.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason -
United States
Unspecified
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Viserys ability makes it difficult for an opponent to get that card to go any place but back to your hand, since his ability lets you save him from kill effects and discard effects. You are correct that a kill or discard effect that says "cannot be saved" will do it. Another example would be a cancel effect that cancels Viserys ability (e.g., Seasick (http://agot.gotdns.com/index.php?view=card&arsenalid=20594)) or some effect that doesn't permit triggered effects to be done during the challenge (e.g., Brienne of Tarth (http://agot.gotdns.com/index.php?view=card&arsenalid=20662)).

2. Traits are briefly described on page 4 of the Core Set rules. They are basically a label (which appear in italics below the artwork on a card) that does not alone confer any ability or effect on cards but is instead referred to by effects that will cause something positive or negative to happen to cards if they have the trait in question.

3. You can use them immediately.

4. Yes, and that is what is usually done. I've only seen someone use it on their own character when it would give them their 15th power for the win.

5. Basically yes, in that there are several action windows during the challenge phase in which you can do that, but technically not at absolutely any point in a challenge. Action windows are described in detail in the official FAQ. To spare you from that if you don't want to spend the time, I think its safe to say that the action windows for triggering an effect with a "Challenges:" timing requirement (such as Shae's ability) are (a) once the round has entered the Challenge phase but before the first challenge has been declared, (b) after a challenge has been declared and attackers selected, but before stealth is applied and defenders selected, (c) after defenders are selected and before resolution of the challenge commences, or (d) after a challenge is concluded and before a new challenge starts or moving to the Dominance phase.

6. Haven't tried either of them yet. (Hey, five of six isn't too bad. )
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate Parkes
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jason: Excellent answers. I just wanted to add one comment.

LashtonBryth wrote:
1. Viserys Targaryen: Does his ability keep him from ever being discarded or removed from play except by cards that read "cannot be saved"? So he will always be in your hand?


Yes, Viserys can usually be returned to your hand, but he's not safe there. If you want to really anger a targaryen player, run a military challenge, watch him draw Viserys Targaryen back into his hand for claim, then run an intrigue challenge, get lucky, and watch him discard Viserys. There goes his claim soak.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.