GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,496 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
13 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: Which Conflict of Heroes? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmb
Hey there again.

I'm new to war games and id like to add one to my collection.

Thinking Conflict of heroes...

The question is which one? They both look awesome, and great for introduction into war gaming.

Anyone suggest either? Maybe you have something else completely different to throw at me?

Thanks.

-Rotten Jeeves.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex H.
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
badge
welcome your reptilian overlords!
mbmbmbmbmb
Not the ideal candidate to answer your question since I played only the first. It is a very good tactical wargame. My understanding is that Kursk adds a few layers of complexity. So as an introduction to the genre you won't go wrong with Awakening of the Bear. But maybe someone more expert will provide a more educated suggestion.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Madhujith Venkatakrishna
Australia
Melbourne
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Have you considered Commands & Colors: Ancients- awesome war games with lots of scenarios and expansions!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom
United States
Plainfield
ILLINOIS
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Both are great so it depends on which battles you are interested in. Even if you buy the first in the series, the new updated rules are available for free both on this site and on Academy games (check often because they update frequently) so you can't go wrong.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Malte Menger
Germany
Nürnberg
Germany
flag msg tools
Mountainbike
badge
Roadbike
mbmbmbmbmb