GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,033 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
18 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Nefertiti Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Carl Olson
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Two questions came up today regarding the Roaming Thief.

1) If the RT takes the card with the Royal Seal, is the Royal Seal replaced immediately?

2) If the market has a Harp and a Double-Senet, does the RT take the Double-Senet because its card value is lower, as the English rules say, or the Harp because the Senet counts as two cards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Cauet
France
Paris
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

carlj wrote:

1) If the RT takes the card with the Royal Seal, is the Royal Seal replaced immediately?


From rules: The Roaming Thief card is then placed on the market in place of the gift taken (if it was a gift with a seal, the seal is not taken).

So you don't have to replace a seal because you don't take it.

carlj wrote:

2) If the market has a Harp and a Double-Senet, does the RT take the Double-Senet because its card value is lower, as the English rules say, or the Harp because the Senet counts as two cards?


From rules: the RT allows to take "the gift with the lowest maximum value."

From rules of base game: the maximum value of a double Senet is 12 > maximum value of Harp.

So no, you have to take the Harp and not the double Senet.

Is it clearer?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Olson
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Thank you.
Being on convention time makes it harder to read rules. :-)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
carlj wrote:
2) If the market has a Harp and a Double-Senet, does the RT take the Double-Senet because its card value is lower, as the English rules say, or the Harp because the Senet counts as two cards?
Even in base game lingo, the Double Senet should be a single card that counts as 2 gifts.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jānis Rudzītis
Latvia
Jūrmala
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have another question about papyrus + seal on the upper row:
I assume that the player who takes this card, gets 2 seals.
thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
baltaistehws wrote:
I have another question about papyrus + seal on the upper row:
I assume that the player who takes this card, gets 2 seals.
thank you!
If you're just taking a single card from the top row, you only ever get that 1 seal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jānis Rudzītis
Latvia
Jūrmala
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you argue, please, why?
Here is the description from the official rulebook:
"Also add to the draw pile as many “4 points + 1 seal” papyrus as there are players. When a papyrus is bought, stolen or exchanged on the board (but not with another player), the player immediately takes the seal as well as the card."
The question is: does it mean "take a seal from supply"? If yes, then I consider it as a additional seal to that one which is already placed on the upper Gift card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.