GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,804 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
15 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Conflict of Heroes: Storms of Steel! – Kursk 1943» Forums » General

Subject: My First Consim Game! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lance Richardson
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, now I've gone and done it!

I bought my first consim game (I like Memoir 44 but don't put it in the same category as this game or games in the realm of GMT) and I'm eagerly looking forward to learning it. I've opened it, smelled it and punched it already, but haven't had time to sit down, lay everything out, pour a strong drink (tequila and just about anything), put on some background music and dive into the rules.

Yes, this is going to be a very intimate experience for me. It's my first time and I want it to be special.

Before I jump into the rules of SoS, do you have any suggestions in regards to other related material I may want to have for quick reference? Supplemental documents? General advice? Do the rules require immense patience? Are they easy to follow?

I want to know what to expect before I begin. I don't mind if I'm told it will be a mind-numbing experience... that would be ok, so long as I know that going in.

1 - 10 in Difficulty?

I like to be able to go from start to finish when learning the rules of a game. How much time should I have alotted for this?

I know that's a lot of questions, but I've been waiting for a couple of years to finally take the plunge into that from which there is no return..... wargaming!

Be gentle...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike M
United States
Pisgah Forest
North Carolina
flag msg tools
www.gameholecon.com
badge
129/420
mbmbmbmbmb