GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,912 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
21 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Are ready tokens really placed face up? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael H
United States
Alabama
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think we have been playing this wrong for almost two years.

From the rule book:

D. Ready
A hero that readies can either move up to a number of
spaces equal to his speed or make 1 attack during his
turn. In addition, a hero that readies may place one hero
order token face up next to his hero on the board. The
order may be placed at any time during his turn.
These orders grant the hero special actions/abilities later
in the round, often during the overlord player’s turn (see
“Hero Orders,” page 14).

Does this mean that the ready tokens are public knowledge? I assume that "face up" means the side that shows the aim, dodge, guard, or rest icon.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Bradley
United States
Belleville
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Public knowledge. The Overlord knows what orders are placed.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominic InyokaMadoda
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I guess you could try and think about it in the sense of what your hero would look like doing those things:
Aim: The hero would be sizing up the enemy and calculating distances, possibly adjusting the bow etc.
Dodge: The hero would be acutely watching what was happening around him and maybe standing on his toes in anticipation of a leap to safety.
Guard: Starting to make an attack by aiming his bow, readying his sword or starting to cast a fireball.
Rest: The hero may be sitting down, drinking a flask of water, hands on knees wheezing...
If the hero were doing any of these things, the Overlord would be able to tell what they were doing just by watching them. At least, that's my take on it!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Colvin
United Kingdom
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Yes, orders are placed faced up in RAW.

Placing them face down is a house rule that gets bandied about a fair bit though. We started using it a long time back and never looked back. It doesn't make a big impact as it's usually fairly obvious which order they are using, but it's a fun addition when the heroes pull a successful (or unsuccessful) bluff and definitely adds to the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.