So lets say I get my race separated on opposite ends of the map...
Can I still pick up all my tokens (except for the 1 you leave) and attack from any of my owned regions? I feel like I should only be able to use the tokens from my "west" regions to fight in the west and the tokens from my "east" regions to fight in the east.
Is someone at the table wishing they were actually playing Vinci? (I’m not sure, but I think they’d be playing that one wrong as well.)
Am I making this more difficult than it is meant to be?
As long as you’ve asked, yes. You don’t attack from regions, you attack from your hand, or whatever you call the thing that is holding the tokens you picked up during the Ready Your Troops phase.
Am I missing a rule?
Probably this one:
Rules, p. 4, Following Conquests, wrote:
Each of the newly conquered Regions must be adjacent to (i.e. sharing a border with) a Region already occupied by his Race tokens, unless permitted otherwise by his Race and Special Power combo.
Bolding from original, underlining added by your humble narrator. The use of the indefinite article leaves the choice up to you. East and west don't enter into it.