Another noob question -
The rules on tower placement state that you can't join castles.
The rules on the card that allows you to place a free tower state you must follow the standard placement rules.
The rules on the card that allows you to move a tower make no mention of the standard placement rules. Does this mean you can join towers with this card? If not, I have to convince my game friends, so please give me some references.
Thanks for all the help.
During the game, standard placement rules prevent you from placing a tower piece that would effectively make two towers into one. The action card for a free tower piece placement must follow this rule as you have stated.
Now, if you play the action card that allows you to take a tower piece from somewhere else on the board you must assure you do not violate the area / height requirement for castles. You can't take a one-high tower piece from one castle that would result in its area being less than its height.
Now, a beginning move in the game might be for you to play the move one tower action card (assuming you've dealt them all out to each player and I highly recommend this variant) and move a one tower castle and join it to another one tower castle reducing the total number of castles on the board by one. Another player can make this move a second time, but then you're stuck. The rules state you can never have fewer than six castles on the board.
That's the only way I know to make a castle disappear.