Recommend

Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Everything Else » OLD BGGBlogs (do not use)

Subject: Glueing minis? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Devin Leung
United States
New Hyde Park
New York
flag msg tools
mb
I have a few tiny plastic mini's that have snapped apart. Some in several pieces. Does anyone have an opinion on what type of glue I should use to repair them?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Marchlewitz
Canada
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Zap a gap
This games workshop glue works great...for plastic or metal. But is is pricey...perhaps there are cheaper alternatives...

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lise Fracalossi
United States
Lunenburg
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmb
I'm by no means a glue expert, but isn't the Games Workshop glue mentioned above basically cyanoacrylate, i.e., superglue? Would superglue do the trick?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noel
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
superglue
Superglue would be fine, like Crazy Glue. I use Zap A Gap, myself. In most cases it works well.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Jeneki
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Plastic cement usually works best for plastic kits. Look for it next to the model kits in stores. Plastic cement basically melts the pieces together, sort of like 'welding' them. There are a few types of plastic that this won't work on (for example, the Warzone 2nd edition boxset kits).

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Devin Leung
United States
New Hyde Park
New York
flag msg tools
mb
Ok, maybe I should specify what the pieces are. They're the little hobbits in the lord of the rings game. There's one with the head snapped off. Others have their legs broken off from the pedestal. So not much surface area to work with.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jefF, There are some who call me... DuneKitteh
United States
Wood Dale
Illinois