Recommend

Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Everything Else » OLD BGGBlogs (do not use)

Subject: Session stories - opinions needed. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jack Bennett
United States
Rougemont
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Play. Always.
mbmbmbmbmb
so, there's something that i've been wanting to do and i wanted to know the Geeks opinion on it.

one of my hobbies is boardgames, obviously, but i'm also a writer. a creative writing degree allows you, pretty much, to work in any fast food restaurant you want to.

but here i found a new way to practice my writing.

i call them session stories.

i have written one to give to you guys as an example. this is not, by any means, a good example. this is not good writing, this is what i would call "throw up." it's what i could get down in 10 minutes, it's everything that popped into my head. it hasn't been editied, worked on, fixed, nothing. what i'm saying is that it's not good writing.

here it is

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/78252

so my questin to all of you is this. are people actually interested in stories like this? these wouldn't be a description of the game. these wouldn't even talk about mechanics, strategy, ideas, problems, nothing. they would just be short stories, based loosely off the game. characters, plots, themes, and whatnot would be recognizeable. would people actually be interested in this?

if so, would people rather i post it as a sessions report? or post it as an article called a session story? or even post it in a journal entry, or post periodic journal entries with links to new stories, 5 or 6 at a time.

if i decide to really get into this, these stories will get much better. most of them will take me a week or two to complete, not 10 minutes, and so i'm not going to invest anything if people aren't interested.

if peolpe ask me to write them, i'm on it in a heartbeat, but if there's no demand, there's no supply.