Despite the rules to this being "simple" there are a few points I was wondering if someone can clarify for me...
Firstly with movement, say I use two cards in my first round, one with 4mp the next with 5mp, totalling 9. With the rules can I share out 3mp each to say 3 units, regardless if they are cavalry or infantry OR do ALL the infantry using that set of cards have to use the mp on one card, in this case therefore 4 or 5mp? with the rest going to a cavalry unit. The rules give an example where it states "Using this example..." and gives amounts linked with the cards shown. Was this just a coincidence? Are the points just shared out but 5mp is simply the maximum any ONE infantry unit can move? It's the "Single infantry units are limited to the maximum MP available on a single played card" that I'm curious about, was the "s" for plural?
Secondly a simpler one, I'm assuming "one face change" for 1mp can mean the unit can turn around 180 degrees for one point but thus using it's total face changes for that round? Logically assuming therefore a unit may attack another, or be in dire stress and can simply "about face" and run away.
Thirdly the "Axe" card. I may need general help with this one! The card adds 2BP but then can the attacker/defender using it then add other cards for BP accompanying the attack as per "basic rules"? If the card is played as defence, can it be played at any point in the attackers round? I'm assuming it can.
Fourthly, there are mixed accounts here regarding 2 x BP or more to make a defending unit take a hit and retreat, is it equal and above or simply above?
Fifthly (can I say "fifthly"? I can can't I? I nearly had a Freudian slip and said "filthily" then...) - disorder, am I right in thinking a disordered unit that loses a battle (just greater than) MUST take a reduction and the attacker has no choice regarding a retreat? This therefore being an important element of generally reducing units in the game? There's some real "devil in the detail" with archers/disordering isn't there?
Lastly...for now Counter Attack, I'm assuming you can play the card simply to stop/prevent an attack, the defender does not have to use another unit to attack back? It does state on my set of cards that the "defending player may...".
Any help gratefully received. Played it last night (Bannockbourn) and it seemed to go on forever, very likely our fault by not attacking as much as we should have and not forcing each other to "lose/use" cards, so to an extent as while annoyed at times, the game seems genuinely intriguing.
- Last edited Tue Aug 3, 2010 12:27 pm (Total Number of Edits: 3)
- Posted Tue Aug 3, 2010 12:11 pm
#1. You can divide the MP from the cards you play at the same time as you wish.
#3. Yes and Yes
#5 Disordered units can retreat. The only thing they cant do is Attack.
"...very likely our fault by not attacking as much as we should have and not forcing each other to "lose/use" cards..."
Yes . . . tis is a game of card management and usage. Getting your opponent to over/wrongly use his cards is what play is about. Also, Bannockburn IS a long (2 hojurs, maybe) and difficult scenario . . .
That's great thank you.
Indeed towards the end I was realising that if I kept feigning attacks my opponent would start losing/using up more of his cards. He couldn't understand at first why I had so many more in my hand and was getting rather annoyed!
If I can just finally confirm therefore, when a unit is disordered and is beaten in a battle - just by "greater than" - then the unit still suffers a reduction AND then the defending player has the usual choice of a retreat or a reduction? This again being a key part of the game, archers "soften up" a potential target ensuring you don't have to spend so many cards eliminating it?
I'm beginning to like this more and more...