Recommend

Thumb up
 Hide
20 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Everything Else » OLD BGGBlogs (do not use)

Subject: War of the Rings painting: finished! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Karp
United States
Rockville
Maryland
flag msg tools
admin
Developin' Developin" Developin!!
badge
100 geekgold for OverText, and all I got was this stupid sentence.
mbmb
Today I am officially declaring my War of the Ring set finished! I started painting in the middle of December (about the 16th), and as of today, I am done with absolutely everything, right down the the protective coating. Yay! It took longer than I expected--approximately 6 weeks with two people (my girlfriend and me) working on it nearly every evening for hours. Soon, I plan to write up an article and post it in the War of the Rings section, giving tips and suggestions for anyone who wants to try this. (Recommendation number 1: don't do it. Number 2: if you cannot follow number 1, pay attention to the rest of this article, so you can avoid some of the mistakes I made.) But for now, I just wanted to post about it here, since I announced the start of my paint job here, and never gave any updates.

The minis, in my absurdly biased opinion, look fantastic. I can't wait to play a game with them. I had planned to post pictures tonight, but my @%$&! camera batteries were dead, and I have no spares. I hope to get them in the queue tomorrow.

As an aside, a lot of my minis were based on pictures already on the BGG--would it be a really bad idea to post pictures of them on the WotR page? Maybe I should use some other hosting service to avoid further cluttering the WotR page. For the minis with color schemes we designed ourselves, I'll definitely be posting pictures here. At the same time, I know that when I was painting, every picture was useful, so maybe I should post all of the pics here. Opinions?