Douglas Donin
Brazil
Porto Alegre
Rio Grande do Sul
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
=============== 1 - Introduction ===============

Hello, fellow gamers.

In this series of (3) articles I will show the techniques I use to make my own wood blocks for wargames. I am by no means a professional carpenter or woodworker - in fact, I'm a lawyer - and most of these techniques I learnt as I did. So, I'm sure some of you have much better ways to do the same job, but I'm sure as well some of you don't have a slightiest idea where to start, too.

Feel free to contribute with your comments and please forgive me for butchering the beautiful language of Shakespeare, as well.

The articles will cover these topics:
1 - cutting and preparing your blocks;
2 - basic painting;
3 - decorating and adding symbols.

For the sake of accessibility, I will not use power tools (electric saws, etc), for four main reasons:
1 - not everyone have these tools;
2 - they are not 100% safe for we laymen to use, and I don't want anyone losing fingers on me;
3 - depending on the wood you use, the final result may be rough and below what you desire;
4 - they shake too much, difficulting fine work.

That said, let's jump to the tutorial.

=============== 2 - What you'll need ===============

You'll need the following materials:

- Some wooden laths. For this tutorial, I bought (at the local Leroy & Merlin store) four 1cm x 1cm x215 cm 100% certified Imbuia (Ocotea Porosa) laths, wich is a very, very good wood, used mainly for fine furniture. Each lath cost is R$ 4,60 (U$ 2.50), and the four laths (wich costed U$ 10.00) were enough for up to 210 1x1x4 cm long, linear warfare, Napoleonic age style wood blocks;

- Some scraps of wood of various sizes. We'll cover its uses later;

- A good hand saw;

- A small hammer;

- A bag of small steel nails;

- Some C-Claps (here in Brazil we call them "Generals" in some regions). Nowadays small chinese iron c-clamps are very cheap and can be found nearly anywhere;