Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Indonesia» Forums » Rules

Subject: Production Area vs Province rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Terry
United States
carlsbad
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Hi -- just trying to clarify something:

In our game last night, we were treating a company's starting province as the only valid shipping-from point for all goods originating from the company. This meant that rules such as "you may buy expansion if you can't ship all goods" made no sense at all. You can pay to expand goods for $25 each then sell them at $25 each? Doesn't make sense based on how we were playing. So I assume we were doing something wrong. Perhaps it is this:

"A company can only sell goods to a city if there is a chain of ships
of one shipping company connecting the producing area with the
city."

1. Does a "production area" end at a border of a province, or can a "production area" span multiple provinces for purposes of determining shipping of goods?

2. If the latter is the case, then it's possible to expand into an adjacent province from a company's starting province, and ship out all of the company's goods through that adjacent province, right? OR, can you only ship out those goods through the adjacent province that are currently located in the adjacent province?

3. If that is allowable, must you have coastal access in that 2nd expanded-into province, or does the presence of one of your goods in any "area" in a province give access to all coasts of that province?

If none of my questions above make any sense, perhaps if you could give me an example of a scenario where "buying expansion" is profitable for a player.

Thanks
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeroen Doumen
Netherlands
Eindhoven
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Click to see this player's page
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
carlsbad wrote:
Hi -- just trying to clarify something:

In our game last night, we were treating a company's starting province as the only valid shipping-from point for all goods originating from the company. This meant that rules such as "you may buy expansion if you can't ship all goods" made no sense at all. You can pay to expand goods for $25 each then sell them at $25 each? Doesn't make sense based on how we were playing.

Buying expansion can make sense, but you'll need at least two turns to start making money on the investment.

carlsbad wrote:
1. Does a "production area" end at a border of a province, or can a "production area" span multiple provinces for purposes of determining shipping of goods?

No, a production area can span multiple provinces.

carlsbad wrote:
2. If the latter is the case, then it's possible to expand into an adjacent province from a company's starting province, and ship out all of the company's goods through that adjacent province, right? OR, can you only ship out those goods through the adjacent province that are currently located in the adjacent province?

Yes, you can ship from anywhere in the production area - no matter the province.

carlsbad wrote:
3. If that is allowable, must you have coastal access in that 2nd expanded-into province, or does the presence of one of your goods in any "area" in a province give access to all coasts of that province?

Yes - you can only ship from the coast(s) where your production area is adjacent to a sea area (with a ship).

Jeroen
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Devin Smith
England
Southampton
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, I'm just going to explain how it works

Each of your production chits produces one resource. You can transport the resource produced by a production chit across land inside the company for free through adjacent chits: you cannot, however, teleport them to a disconnected piece of the company that exists say through a merger.

Then, from anywhere your company touches the ocean, you can put goods on a boat and ship them to a city.

The provinces on the board only matter when you're starting a new company, or when you're putting down a city. When you're operating a company, they matter not in the slightest.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Terry
United States
carlsbad
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarifications.

From these responses and in reading through some other threads, it is apparent we played with a bunch of different incorrect rules, which gave us a completely different game from the one intended. Still, we had lots of fun.

I look forward to playing this game with the right ones!

Terry
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.