United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I would like to guess it's because the game plays so fast that there is no reason to level up more than that.

It would still be cool to find out from a designer what was their reasoning.

It would have been cool to add a variant to allow leveling up more for campaign type of games like in the original D&D. But I understand this is more of a light/gateway type of game for D&D.

Has anyone asked this question or know if WoTC has some sort of "Ask the design team" type of thing?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Outlaw
United Kingdom
Devizes
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
badge
The Wing Warrior - learn more at www.facebook.com/thelegendriders
mbmbmbmbmb
I am not a designer (obviously) and wouldn't dream of thinking I had some kind of real insight, but from my point of view, I think this was probably just the best fit for what they wanted to do (a very quick, light, co-op dungeon crawler).

XP is a shared resource among players - you choose as a team if someone should go up a level. I doubt many people would want to keep stacking upgrades onto one person while everyone else wandered around getting the stuffing knocked out of them at level 1.

The upgrade system is a little different to normal upgrading and is designed to improve the co-op dynamic. If someone rolls a 20, they can use the XP to upgrade, but you may have decided as a group that you really wanted the mage to upgrade for an extra spell (or whatever). Do you risk holding off, in the hope that the mage will roll the required 20 to upgrade, or do you upgrade the other character just because you can at that moment? Or... do you hold on to the XP in case you run into a nasty trap? It's just a little different to the usual grinding for XP we might have expected, and includes a push-your-luck concept that is quite refreshing (unless I have completely misunderstood how levelling works in this game based on what I have heard).