Jeb
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can this card be activated even if there is no CA, CL or APD within range of a US non LRB unit?

There was a post in ConSim world about how this card should be interpreted. However, the reply can be interpreted as allowing the card as a reaction if there is a battle hex played that offensive ... despite the fact that there is no US air unit within range of a CA, CL APD. Is this how the card should be interpreted?

From Consim World
Q: Skip Bombing
Does this event have any prerequisites? Once the allies draw this card, can they play it as a reaction card to the first Japanese OC or EC regardless if there are battles, or if a CA-type unit moves in range of a US air unit?
A: The card can be played as a reaction event under one of two circumstances. There is a declared battle hex OR a Japanese CA, CL, APD naval unit has moved within the extended range of an U.S. non-LRB air unit. If neither one of these occur then you cannot use the card as a reaction event. If either or both of these prerequisites have occurred then the card can be played as a reaction event. The bonus loss of a Japanese ASP occurs if the card is played as a reaction event.

The errata states:
Skip Bombing: The conditions of the top of the card are a pre-requisite for the bonus.
The Japanese do not lose an ASP unless the conditions for the event (top half of card) are
met. The qualifying air unit need not be activated, or in supply, to conduct the attack.


Summary:

One person could interpret this response that the card can be activated if there is 1) a battle hex or 2) if a Japanese CA, CL, APD moves within range of a US non-LRB air unit.

Another person could interprete this as meaning that the card can be played as a reaction if their is a battle or a CA, CL, APD move, either of which must be within range of a US air unit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The answer from the official FAQ, what you are calling the Consimworld answer, is the correct answer. Not sure what errata beyond that you are referring to.

Here the link to the FAQ.


http://markherman.tripod.com/eotsrules.html

Mark
 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeb
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MarkHerman wrote:
The answer from the official FAQ, what you are calling the Consimworld answer, is the correct answer. Not sure what errata beyond that you are referring to.

Here the link to the FAQ.


http://markherman.tripod.com/eotsrules.html

Mark


The Errata is the corrections from the GMT site ... here is the link:

http://www.gmtgames.com/nneots/EotSCorrectionsJuly05.pdf

However, I still uncertain how to interprete the card.

Here is the card text:
=====================================================================
#24: 2 / Skip Bombing Attack
Prior to battle, reduce either a Japanese CA, CL or APD naval unit by one step (Allied players choice - even if this eliminates the unit) if, during the current Offensive, an active Japanese CA, CL or APD naval unit moves within the extended range of a U.S. non-LRB air unit. If more than one possible, Japanese players choice. Bonus: The Japanese permanently lose one Amphibious Shipping Point unless it is their last ASP. Draw one Strategy Card.


The FAQ says:
======================================================================
Q: Skip Bombing
Does this event have any prerequisites? Once the allies draw this card, can they play it as a reaction card to the first Japanese OC or EC regardless if there are battles, or if a CA-type unit moves in range of a US air unit?
A: The card can be played as a reaction event under one of two circumstances. There is a declared battle hex OR a Japanese CA, CL, APD naval unit has moved within the extended range of an U.S. non-LRB air unit. If neither one of these occur then you cannot use the card as a reaction event. If either or both of these prerequisites have occurred then the card can be played as a reaction event. The bonus loss of a Japanese ASP occurs if the card is played as a reaction event.

The Clarification on the GMT site says:
=====================================================================
Skip Bombing: The conditions of the top of the card are a pre-requisite for the bonus.
The Japanese do not lose an ASP unless the conditions for the event (top half of card) are
met. The qualifying air unit need not be activated, or in supply, to conduct the attack.


I'm not sure if:

A) This card be used as a reaction event if there is a battle hex regardless of weather or not that hex is in range of a US non-LRB unit?
1- If so, does this mean that the ASP is lost only, but a CA, CL, APD step is lost only if they are in range of a US non-LRB or
2- Does this mean that both a step is lost and an ASP is lost regardless of the Air Unit qualification.

B) This card can only be used if there is an american non-LRB air unit that is within range of either a battle hex or a hex the CA, CL, APD moved through.

The FAQ can arguably be interpreted to mean A (either 1 or 2). But the clarification on the GMT site seems to contradict this and inplies B.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark Hodgkinson
Bahrain
bahrain
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My view:

The card is a reaction card. It can be played as a reaction to a battle.

Plus. Also if there is no battle and the Card text applies. either case the -1ASP holds.



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. I will ask them to remove it. Applies to an earlier version of the rules.

You are over thinking this situation. Per the FAQ, if there is a battle hex Anywhere. You can play the card and the bonus applies, minus one ASP.

Or a CA etc moves in range of the SR air unit. With or without a battle. Minus one ASP. In addition if this is true you also eliminate a naval step.


Mark
2 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.