Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brent Wenerstrom
United States
Riverton
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you to all who are reading this. I am a PhD student working in computer science on search engine summaries. I have come up with multiple ways of summarizing search results. However, I need some of you to give me some feedback. I have set up searches on all of the top 25 games here on the Geek. I then gathered top 5 search results from a major search engine. I altered the search summary in some cases. I just need you to see how effective each summary is at helping you predict how much useful content a search result will have.

Search Task

My search task should take you only 5-10 minutes. Any help is appreciated. If you have specific comments about any of the search summaries please mail me. Each user is randomly assigned to method of summary generation. Others will not see the same result summary, though they will see the same result pages. Feedback of all kinds is appreciated. Also, please alert me if anything is broken. I built it from scratch and it resides on my server at school. Thank you.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls

Lacombe
Louisiana
msg tools
badge
Suddenly a shot rang out! A door slammed. The maid screamed. Suddenly a pirate ship appeared on the horizon! While millions of people were starving, the king lived in luxury. Meanwhile, on a small farm in Kansas, a boy was growing up.
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, I did it... but, honestly, my answers were based on my familiarity with similar searches in the past and familiarity with general writing styles of some big search engine results for games (BoardGameGeek, Wikipedia, game publisher sites, etc). I was pretty well able to guess what kind of page was represented, even with you masking the URLs and titles. Wikipedia and BGG are especially easy.