M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been playing boardgames for about 10 years, having spent something like 20 years playing RPG. Now I have a bit of a hankering for playing a boardgame with a bit of a "Dungeons and Dragons" theme. I like co-op games a lot (Arkham Horror is just about my favourite game - ever, but I play Pandemic, Shadows over Camelot, Battlestar Galactica and Lord of The Rings too). I have a requirement that I can finish a game in a 4 hour session (or thereabouts) with my group of five players (including me).

I couldn't find a search that included both co-op (team vs. game) and semi-co-op games (a "GM" + game vs. the team) so I had to resort to browsing and came up with Descent and Runebound.

I think that Descent might fit my requirements, but I'm concerned that (as a Kevin Wilson game) it might be a bit too close to Arkham Horror.

Runebound looks like it won't handle 5 players very well.

Can anybody weigh the pros and cons of Descent and Runebound or compare Descent against any other game that they thing may fit the bill. If you can't compare Descent against a candidate, I'd be grateful for a comparison of Descent with Arkham Horror if you can manage that.

Please don't just say "you should try because it's cool", I need a measured comparison please.

I know that this is a big and picky ask, so thanks in advance for reading this far and for any response that you find the time to give.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus
Finland
Helsinki
Uusimaa
flag msg tools
You don't need any more.
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I own both and I like Arkham Horror a lot more than Descent.

What you need to realise is that in Descent one player plays the overlord and tries to defeat the other players. He is not a benevolent game master but a competitive player. This can be quite taxing as you are playing against four other players by yourself.