Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

SPQR (Deluxe Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: 8.11 Missile Fire question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scott
United States
Redding
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I need a little help on 8.11. "When given an individual order, a missile unit can move, fire, or fire during movemen." Sounds straightforward. "...A Line of Missile units given a Line Command may fire during, instead of their movement; however, they may only fire once during that order." So I've been interpreting the rules to only being able to fire once per order, when can you fire multiple times?

Scott
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Australia
Sebastopol (Ballarat)
Victoria
flag msg tools
That's Karl on the left. Eternity on the right.
badge
I love Melissa, but don't tell her. It's a secret if she can find this. Shhhhh....
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Missile capable units may only fire once per order. They can't fire multiple times in the active players order.

Basically the rules are trying to state:

1. You may fire during movement, before or after.
2. You may fire if you don't move.
3. But, you may only fire once when activated by an order.

The wording in 8.11 is a bit tedious.

The only time a missile unit can fire multiple times is when the non-phasing player is performing reaction fire. (8.24)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott
United States
Redding
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick reply Randy. That is a strange way of saying that each unit can fire a maximum of one time per order(with the exception of reaction fire).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Australia
Sebastopol (Ballarat)
Victoria
flag msg tools
That's Karl on the left. Eternity on the right.
badge
I love Melissa, but don't tell her. It's a secret if she can find this. Shhhhh....
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is also fairly explicit in 5.25

5.25 Although a given combat unit may be ordered to move more
than once per game turn, it may not move (and/or Missile Fire) more
than once per Order Phase (see 6.11 and 6.12).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott
United States
Redding
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GeneSteeler wrote:
It is also fairly explicit in 5.25

5.25 Although a given combat unit may be ordered to move more
than once per game turn, it may not move (and/or Missile Fire) more
than once per Order Phase (see 6.11 and 6.12).


That's true, but it seems like I read that so long ago shake.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.